Tea and hobnobs.....delicious!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 5th 2005
Published: October 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Another day of class although this time a bit more interesting. The topic for today's lecture was "The Cold War in East Asia" and basically consisted of US-Japan relations and their effect within the Cold War and East Asia in particular. It was pretty interesting, besides the fact that the class seems to be almost in the level 1 realm but not quite. Their levels here confuse me and sometimes I feel like I'm in the wrong class, but hopefully I'll be able to figure everything out and be just fine. At the very least I'm not alone in the confusion, since Amy and Sarah (both Australian) are there with me. Tomorrow morning, early (9am after a Wednesday night is torture here), we'll learn something about Nottingham as a city. I'm hoping that we are able to do some sort of field trips to town to look at buildings, etc. That would be fantastic and educational, hehe.

In other academic news, I went to buy the only book that I know that I need to have my own copy of. It has a pretty okay title, until you find out that it was translated from Latin....scary. We're reading Bede's "The Ecclesiastical History of the English People" for Kings, Saints and Monsters in England. The class has only 30 students, which is a definite change from SC. Even the upper div classes that I've had have at least 45-50 students each, although sometimes less because people don't show to lectures. I think my Nott'm class also has only 30 which is pretty neat. No disappearing acts here, folks! You are most definitely accountable for showing up to class, especially when they combine their seminars with the actual lecture. The one neat thing is that 2 of my 3 classes are only once per week. And I have Friday off every other week with no classes, that is if I skip frisbee. 😊 But skipping frisbee is a definite must in order to travel around. And if that doesn't work out, missing a lecture or two on a Monday seems to be nothing....however that'll make me crazy because I tend to retain more from lecture than the reading or maybe it's both combined.

That's pretty much all that I've been up to besides frisbee, which is going pretty good. I'm actually pretty sore from it already....I need to get in shape. And eating all manner of white foods (ie pasta, potatoes, bread) is not going to aid me in my aims. Sheesh! I don't know how people stay so skinny over here....they live off of potatoes. No wonder the potato famine in Ireland was such a big disaster!!! It's like the different kinds of shrimp meals that are mentioned in Forest Gump, but with potatoes!!! Geez....

p.s. tea with milk accompanied by chocolate hobnobs....a brilliant dessert!!

Advertisement



5th October 2005

hi!
Hi Jackie, Just wanted to say hi and let you know Jesse and I have been reading your blog- very entertaining :) Good to hear what you're up to. Erin
10th October 2005

Great Blog!
Hi Jackie -- just got caught up on your blog -- I agree with Erin -- very entertaining! Sounds like all is going well. Glad to hear it. And, the reason why there are so many skinny people in England, even with all the "white" foods, is because they all SMOKE! If you made them quit smoking, then a large percentage of the population would probably balloon to twice their size! :)

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0951s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb