First day of class........in record time!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 3rd 2005
Published: October 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Off to class I went this morning about 9:30am to the Law & Soc Sci building for Contemporary World since 1945. The room was very interesting. It had rows of chairs that folded up but shared a table, kind of like a law room. No slouching here! Our convenors introduced what this module was going to be about and handed out a 30 page syllabus with 6 pages devoted to a reading list. Yikes! And no particular text book for the course. Plus, they don't expect us to attend every lecture but only the ones that we'd like to learn more about. However, we must attend all our seminars. Craziness....I attend everything but I've never actually been told that I don't have to come to class by any professor.

Tomorrow I have class at 11 or 12: Kings, Saints and Monsters in England c. 450-850. We'll see what that one's all about. Hopefully it's not another 30 pg syllabus. Sheesh!

Beyond all the class stuff I went into Beeston today for some grub (ie Sainsbury's). And I've figured out how to change the DVD region on my laptop for the time being so that I can entertain myself. I've already watched about 4 movies: Two Weeks Notice, The Phantom of the Opera, The Incredibles, and a couple others. Becky is my savior....she has practically all the same movies that I have and I love that she lets me borrow them.

Oh and we had a mashed potato club party last night at 11pm. It was really fun...Ruth's flatmates are the best!

This evening Ruth, Jana, Natasha, and I headed to Broadgate Bar. The four of us were just hanging out until a group of guys asked for our assistance in playing a prank on some guy. Basically they got his number off his shirt for Rock City the night before and we're texting him from a girl named "Lucy", who didn't exist. In the end it was pretty funny. And it turned out to be one of the three guys that live below me and that I saw yesterday at the BBQ on the lawn. Random....but highly entertaining. Plus I got to meet them: Allen, Paul and Duncan. It's weird that you can live in the same building as people and never really know who they are. It's totally different than the dorms, but I'm really glad that I'm not in catered halls because they have really strict mealtimes--breakfast 8-9am, lunch 12-1pm and dinner 5-6 or 6-7pm. It's insane!! No latenight here unless it's takeaway.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb