Dum di dum dum....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 1st 2005
Published: October 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Laundry: not something I want to do but I don't have a choice.....thus I finally have finished my laundry. And in waiting for my clothes to become clean, I researched places I'd like to visit on the weekend or so. Paris and Wales look really nice, not to mention St. Andrews to visit Rachel. Now I just need to find a travel partner who is able to travel on a budget but who's also willing to just go. Ruth showed me a great travel site too--lastminute.com--which looks really good. Other than that I've been looking at STA travel which is pretty good and they have an office in the Students' Union building that's very convenient.

Aside from laundry and surfing the net, I cleaned my room and sorted out all the papers and such that are everywhere. Too much paperwork!!!!

I went over to 208 for Ruth's birthday get-together. Basically it was Ruth and her flatmates (Catherine, Becky, and Steph) and Deborah. We had takeaway and a picnic in their hallway which was fun. Ruth was going to the Old Peacock with Jana and Alex but I opted to not go because I was really tired. Instead I watched She's All That with Ruth's flatmates and John. The commentary and questions about what it's like in the States is really amusing.

I borrowed a couple of movies from Becky to see if they would work in my laptop, which they do except that I had to change the region. The computer will only allow you to change the region like 3 or 4 times so I'll just have to find a way to get my DVDs over here so that I can entertain myself when I don't want to go out to the pubs or clubs or if I get sick (which I hope I don't but you never know.) That will be my mission over Christmas. That was pretty much my day.

Random Thoughts:
You have to turn all the electrical sockets on by a switch, which is strange to me. And that includes the cooker (ie the stove). I guess it's a safety thing but it's also very different than the US where we just have power once you plug something in. Interesting....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb