Being utterly lazy......sort of


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
September 29th 2005
Published: September 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Last night was fantastic! It was a lot of fun but I'm pretty much partied out. I might go to the last event of the week, but we'll see. It's utter craziness to go out every night of the week....it puts one big dent in your wallet. Sheesh!

Anyways, this morning I waited around to see if Ruth and Jana were going to go shopping in the city centre. It would have been fun to go with them, if they actually did go, but by noon I wouldn't have made it. So I hung out a bit with my flatmates. Then I headed over to check out the Nottingham Ultimate Frisbee team. They were really nice and so I've joined the team. It'll be good to meet new people and also grasp the game a bit better. Plus, the majority of the team is British which is nice since most of the people that I've been hanging out with aren't. It's going to be quite an experience playing indoor ultimate. Actually, it's going to be highly painful....imagine volleyball (minus a net) with a frisbee and not enough room to actually throw it correctly. Scary.

After ultimate I came back to the flat to shower and stretch (I'm going to be soo sore). Then I headed out to dinner with my flatmates for some Chinese food (yes I know its England, but my flatmates are all from southeast Asia, so Chinese it was). The food was okay but getting to know them was even better. They are all really funny. And they'll say certain things in Cantonese or something, translating it for me so that I know what's going on. It's really considerate of them to do that for me because otherwise I'd be way out of the loop.

I talked to Kris and Erin (for 2 seconds) today which was cool. It's nice to talk to family especially if you aren't used to not talking to them on a regular basis. It's actually kinda weird because you almost don't recognize their voice. Plus I've been hanging around too many accents and everything is all convoluted. It sounds like the San Fernando Valley is out of power or internet because of the fires....bummer. Well hopefully the fires will be under control someday soon.

Tonight has been kind of a cultural learning time. We discussed exchange rates and thus types of money and the possible confusion that goes along with it. For instance, they find US money more confusing (particularly paper form) because it's all the same size and color, etc. It was all pretty interesting but I'm sure a recount is probably really tedious and boring. However, I think we all agree that pound coins are pretty annoying (or at least more to me) because they weigh a ton and are just a nuisance, especially if you get change for something. Anyways, that's just me.

That pretty much ends my day. It was a good, mellow day to just relax and get to know new people in multiple ways....on the pitch and off.

Oh and a great quote from Cynthia (one of my flatmates) after stopping by Sainsbury's for a few things non-white in color: "Evil comes in yummy forms", referring to the chocolate HobNobs that I was treating myself to and which she tried to resist but just couldn't. Yay for chocolate HobNobs!!!! and yay for Lemonade!!! (ie fizzy lemon water, similar to lemon lime soda--sort of).

NOTE: I should have a few pics of my flatmates and myself up by this weekend, but I'm not promising anything.

4 days until classes start.....wow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb