Laundry....ugh!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
September 28th 2005
Published: September 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Since I absolutely must do laundry, mainly because visiting clubs and pubs and such are all smokey that my clothes smell absolutely disgusting, I am in the process of completing this task. And in scoping out the laundry situation, which is pretty cool since it's out the door and 2 steps to the left, the cost of laundry is amazing. At Santa Cruz laundry is $1.25 to wash and $.75 to dry. Well, here it's 1.60 quid and 60p, respectively. So double it and that's what it would be in the US, approximately. Ahh! Well since I don't really have a choice....laundry it is. The cool thing though is that it's the exact same machines as at SC which makes it a lot easier to understand.

Beyond the whole laundry issue, I went over to Rutland Hall (our rival hall apparently) to meet Amy (from Australia) to try and find this building that we have a class together in. It seems that it's really not that far away from where either of us are, which is good. On the map it seems like an eternity away when in actuality it's only about 20 min maybe. She wasn't there when I arrived at our meeting place, which I knew could happen because she was going ice skating and had to leave early, so I ventured on my own. I found the building, taking the long way to it, and then came back to Broadgate the short way so that now I have an idea of how to get their quickly.

I also went upstairs today to see who else is living in Moona's (one of the girls from Kenya) flat. I met two of them, Michaely and Lucy, who are both really nice. That was pretty cool. My 4th flatmate also moved in today which was highly entertaining. Deborah is from Singapore but she has as much energizer as the energizer bunny and seriously keeps going and going and going. She had just gotten off her flight when she got here and was starving the entire day....everytime I saw her she was hungry. So everyone is here now: myself (USA), Cynthia and Deborah (Singapore), Jung Hyun (S. Korea), and Emily (Malaysia). It's a pretty interesting mix but they're all really nice and easy to get along with so far. We'll have to see what it's going to be like once classes start next week.

I hung out, with my flatmates in the hall, until later when I headed down to the bar to meet up with everyone going to the Ibiza party @ The Works. The theme was "beach party" which is really funny because it was really cold and rainy but everyone was running around like it was 80 degrees (Fahrenheit) outside!! I however wore several layers because I was freezing and was absolutely grateful later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0975s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb