Registration


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
September 27th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So, last night I went to Ocean for Funked Up @Ocean which was really fun. I met up with a bunch of friends (ie John, Ruth, Steph, Kiera, and Becky) and I met a few new freshers at the bar before hand. It was really really fun. They had a live band and a pretty good DJ playing. The band was "Invaders from Planet Funk" and they mostly covered other songs but they were really good for what they did, I thought. It was thus a very late night but that's ok because I slept in until about 11:30am which I'm sure Erin and Erika are proud of because they were notorious for that on the weekend, hehe.

Then this morning I worked on further figuring out what modules (classes) I was going to take which is the biggest pain in the butt here. It takes forever to do anything. After sort of figuring out what I was going to take, I queued for 2.5 hours before it was my turn to talk to the lady (for 5 min) to okay what I wanted to take. And once again I had to fill out all sorts of papers and whatnot. Sheesh. Therefore, the classes that I will be taking (as of today, because I have until the 14th Oct to say for sure) are:

Kings, Saints and Monsters in England c.450-850

This module examines cultural and political changes in the southern half of the island of Britain between the fifth and ninth centuries, in particular the development of kingship and kingdoms as a form of political organisation, and the effects of the conversion of the Anglo-Saxons to Christianity.

Nottingham: The Making of a Provincial City

Students will be introduced to major themes in the history of the City of Nottingham, with particular attention paid to the evolution of the town from the seventeenth century until the nineteenth century. Wherever possible themes will be illustrated with reference to research materials, and students will be encouraged to 'read' Nottingham from the landscape and buildings.

And... Contemporary World Since 1945

The module surveys and analyses some of the main developments in world affairs since the end of the Second World War. This includes major international events, particularly the course and aftermath of the Cold War, as well as national and regional histories, especially in Europe, East Asia and the Middle East. Attention is paid to political and economic forces.

They all sound pretty interesting and I'm hoping that the Nottingham one means taking field trips to explore the city and read it from its landscape. This ends my day, pretty much, and tomorrow I think I'm going to explore Beeston a bit more and then maybe go to Ibiza @The Works with friends (and fellow freshers) for another Week One party. Cheers!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb