Bombardment!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
September 26th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So this morning I walked over to Freshers' Fayre at the Sports Centre. It was set up in a huge marquee....they easily fit 300 stalls in it!! So I explored and walked up and down all the aisles. Let me tell you, it is the hot spot for free stuff. They hand out free stuff left and right whether you need it or not. I walked away with about 4 bags full of stuff. There are over 300 clubs and societies and when they told me that I was wowed, but once you actually see that they truly exist it's insane! and completely overwhelming. I was bombarded left and right by people trying to get me to join. Our OPERS fair is nothing compared to Freshers' Fayre. And on top of that it goes until Wednesday. It was nuts!

Needing a break after all the bombardment at Fayre, I hiked up to PB to get some school supplies (mainly paper) and lunch. And I think I should get some Vitamin C because apparently the first week in halls last year they had an outbreak of the flu or something which really stinks and I don't want to have to deal with any of that. I know a few people who were headed for Edinburgh this week which was probably a smart move. However, since I have to register for classes and all sorts of stuff it's kinda hard to go anywhere.

I did check out Ultimate here and it sounds like it's going to be a blast. They have a practice coming up next week I think. And I also signed up to be a member of the History Society--it's a way for me to get to know people in my department and to get help if I need it, plus I can purchase used books from 2nd and 3rd years in the dept. Plus they do all sorts of things together, like balls and parties and whatnot. Let's put it this way: EVERYTHING AT UNI REVOLVES AROUND THE CONSUMPTION OF ALCOHOL. AND THERE'S NO GETTING AWAY FROM THAT. However, you can choose to not drink and there's always other non-alcoholic options, even in the pubs. So my teeth may rot but my liver won't die. And yes I can always drink water....which I do (it just gets boring a lot of the time).

Also, for those of you wishing to send me mail you absolutely should, hehe. However, if you are sending me parcels, please let me know because I have to arrange to get them. We don't have a nice mailroom that houses them for us like at UCSC.

My address is:

Flat 60/2 The Elms
Salthouse Lane
Broadgate Park
Beeston
Nottingham NG9 2GY

I know it's long but worth it because I like getting mail. Letters work as normal. If something has a time limit on it, please remember that it takes a couple weeks (more like 5-6) to get here. Thanks!

Ok, so as I'm leafing through all the free stuff that I got at Freshers' Fayre, I find a card for the Fireman's Lift. This is seriously a really funny thing and probably only pertains to the UK. Or maybe it's just really cool....anyways, you can hire a fire truck for party transportation and there are actually companies whose job it is to do just that. So if you're a bit curious check out firemanslift.com and you'll see what I mean.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb