Freshers' Address....fun or no?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
September 25th 2005
Published: September 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So today I went grocery shopping and finally got some food. Yes! And I got hangers for a few of my clothes, etc. Beeston's about a 10-15 min walk from here which isn't bad except when it rains and you have lots of heavy bags to carry back...which was our problem on the way back. Emily was nice enough to let me go with her and her friends, Becks and Sweyun (I probably totally butchered her name). Now I have a better idea of what the shopping area and things are going to entail. I think next time I'm going to take my backpack on wheels (yes I know it's dorky, but it'll save my back).

After that I went to the Freshers' Address, which is basically hearing about the university and what's available to do here. Well let me tell you that I have never seen a show like that. It was like being at a rock concert for the very beginning and then a few speeches that weren't too long and kinda informative. And the amazing thing is that the show was put on entirely by students! It was awesome.

Following the Freshers' Address was a party at the Broadgate pub for all the freshers and once they maxed out there they bussed people to a club downtown. I opted not to go since I've already inhaled way too much cigarette smoke of late, and plus my clothes smell horrible the next day because of the mixture of alcohol and nicotine in the air. It's bad. And all this week there's club nights and parties galore. I may go to a few but you have to pay for them and the clubbing scene isn't one I'm particularly keen on. However, I will go to experience the nightlife, I just can't afford to spend every night at the pub or club. That's not why I'm here. So I stayed in and talked to people and tried to figure out my modules for registration on Tuesday. And tomorrow I'll head over to Freshers' Fayre.

Advertisement



27th September 2005

Great Journal
Jackie, I am enjoying reading our journal very much. The pictures are great too. add more if you can. would like to see pictures of people too. Love Mom

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb