Move in....so exhausting!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
September 24th 2005
Published: September 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

my roommy roommy room

A view of my room from the doorway.
So today I moved myself into my fairly large room. For those of you at UCSC, it's about as big as a double in the dorms. I really like it though because it's the corner room and it has 2 windows with lots of greenery around. The window latches are pretty strange but they work well especially since I can't figure out how to turn both radiators off. I had to stand in a fairly long line to try and sort out my housing in the morning so that I could collect my keys....until Mom came to the rescue and called fixing the mixup. So I got pulled out of line and given my keys!!! Yes! The rest of the day was pretty much spent unpacking. Then I went to the pub for a meet and greet thing (which is practically everytime you go to a pub). I met up with a bunch of friends from the international orientation group and we hung out for a bit then we went to visit with the "yellow shirts", our international hosts, at the Old Peacock which is a pub especially for students in Lenton.

I also met two of my four roommates (there are five of us total--one less than last year at SC). Jung Hyun is from South Korea and Emily is from Malaysia. They are both incredibly nice but don't seem to be very outgoing. So we'll see what happens. Jung Hyun is studying art history as an exchange student and Emily is studying pharmacy towards a full degree at Nottingham Uni. Tomorrow we'll see who our other roommates are.

A little bit about where my building is located. If you look up a map of University Park from www.nottingham.ac.uk look at the bottom left cornere where there's a bunch of purple buildings. In the large cluster, the farthest south-west building is mine. I'm in the Elms (every building is named after a tree) which is across a side street and behind a grammar school. It's really quiet and nice back here. There's also a side gate that leads out to another street but I'm not sure if it's usable or not. It apparently was locked today. It would be handy if it was able to be unlocked by us or something. Anyways, it's about a 10-15 min walk to campus and the history dept although it takes a
View out Window 2View out Window 2View out Window 2

This is the view out the window next to my desk. Looking out the front of the building.
bit longer to get to central campus where the Student Union building is (ie SUB or PB--it's located in the Portland Building).

So that's basically it for the day. Tomorrow will consist of grocery shopping, for the most part, and then we have a Freshers' Address in the evening. Then it's party time again. Seriously, the culture over here is vastly different from the states. Because everyone can drink when they enter Uni, going to the pub every night is normal! It's a bit much for me but every so often it's fun and entertaining.

p.s. it's a really bad thing to get locked out of your building at 1:30am....i hate those stupid key cards!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Kitchen from hallwayKitchen from hallway
Kitchen from hallway

We have 2 "fridges"...one is a fridge and the other is a freezer. They look identical.
storage cabinetsstorage cabinets
storage cabinets

These cabinets are really shallow...my large plate won't fit completely in (pretty close but not completely).


25th September 2005

Hows the weather there? I was suprised how cold it was there when I went.. and in May too!

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb