A clubbing experience


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
September 23rd 2005
Published: September 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have gotten up way too early today so that I could shower off last night’s fun. The club was awesome and it’s HUGE. There had to have been about 300-400 people there last night dancing the night away. They played really good music—a lot of mixes from the USA and some European stuff. In total I had a blast, apart from the inhalation of smoke from both cigarettes and machines. I had to have fun to partially lose my hearing because the music was so loud. (Kris you would have had a fabulous time and I doubt you would have lost your hearing.) It was well worth the 5 Quid (pounds) and they handed out cards to go back any Friday or Saturday night for FREE with 3 friends!! It truly is a different university scene here. Clubbing and alcohol are a major part of the Uni experience.
On a different note, today I get to register with the university, but I’m not sure that means classes or just letting them know that we’re here and receiving our SmartCards or NUS cards (ie student ID card). That would actually be really handy. I also have to pay for internet today so that I can finally contact the states and talk to people without having to leave messages from a payphone that can’t be returned. It’s quite frustrating really. And tomorrow I move into Broadgate Park with a lot of new found international friends. The complex is apparently gigantic so it should be fun to see. I may be going on a tour of Beeston later today which is where Broadgate is located just to acquaint myself and to stock up on some necessary food staples. Other than that, everything else is pretty much like normal.
Oh, the other really cool thing that they do here is that they have a Freshers’ Fayre that is the largest in the country which is partly why this Uni is so popular and so competitive to get into. It is all of next week and it’s kinda like the Opers fair times 100. It lasts for a week with club/party nights every night and over 300 clubs, sports and societies come out so that you can get to know them and see what interests you. It’s going to be amazing!!!!!
Okay, so this morning started out fine and then turned into craziness. I went to the Information Fayre to see what other information I could find about the internet and sports clubs, etc. It was pretty helpful, but I have to read a whole bunch of pamphlets. Then I had lunch with a group of girls at PB and met up with Kristin (Kris) to go to Broadgate and figure out our housing situations. That backfired a bit. It turns out that Kris has to go all the way into Beeston to figure out her housing and I waited in line for over an hour just to find out that my deposit wasn’t paid for some reason so I couldn’t get my keys right then. Therefore, the both of us have to wait in especially long queues tomorrow in order to receive our keys and properly move in. The catch is that all the other students that are not international or EU will also be moving in tomorrow—fun times. After that I quickly tried to sort out my housing situation but had to cut it short to go to university registration, which basically meant that they told us how to fill out our module forms and the proper way to go about signing up for classes. After that I was able to use the international office’s phone to further resolve my housing issues, which was incredibly nice of them. And now I’ve just gotten back from dinner and will be headed to PB for salsa night in about an hour. After that’s done with I shall maybe begin to pack or just do it in the morning and get a good night’s sleep—I haven’t decided which yet. Once again, I favor the US system of enrolling in university and classes much better although it may have less human contact it is most definitely more efficient. That’s all for now!

p.s. Kristin and I have come to the conclusion that there is a distinct difference between a line and a queue. The difference being that you wait in a line for about 2-15 minutes, whereas you invest your time and energy into a queue expecting it to last for several hours before you are helped. Just something to ponder….


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb