Chocolate Martinis and Mormonism


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Leicestershire » Leicester
February 4th 2007
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Finally experienced the Knighton townies last night. Myself and my pack of American friends went into town to try to find a coffee bar. Since I've been here I've really gotten into drinking cappucinos etc. and I also wanted to find a good place to stake out at night and write papers. We didn't quite find that, but we did find a Spanish bar that sold really cheap (1.80) bar tapas and bread with olive oil. We went back and forth between that place and an incredibly cheap and friendly Kebab stand (TJ's Flames). Arun and I both got the humus wrap, and it was definitely better than anything I've had in the states. All of the people who told me that British food was rubbish underestimated the overwhelming amount of authentically ethnic restaurants throughout Britian. As long as you stick to Turkish/Indian/Thai food joints you can't go wrong. After the kebabs all 6 of us gathered at the busstop for the 30 minute wait. Apparently socializing in a cirlce is atypically American. Some extremely well dressed guy that we had run into in Barceloneta started shouting at us from across the street, asking us if we were Mormons preaching to the masses. He was of course completely bamboozled out of his (it's hard to have an experience on this side of the island that doesn't involve the influence of alcohol in some fashion). He ran across the street and started talking to us, remarking on what well behaved, circle forming Americans we were. He also had apparently stolen the glass that his rum and coke was in. When we inquired as to wether or not that was legal he said I AM ENGLISH DOES IT MATTER? Then a bunch of high school kids showed up and stood around gawking and asking us about America. Gotta love Knighton townies.

From there we went back and played some card games at Shirley house, etc.

Today I got up early and went into City Centre with Arun. We were in town for a good 6 hours and finally have the streets figured out for the most part. I absolutely love the open air market. Seeing all of those fresh (and cheap) veggies and spices makes me want to cook so bad. I might invest in a Pricebuster brand frying pan for the occasional dorm meal. Arun and I talked about potentially attempting to cook up an Indian meal or two in Beaumont house. We walked through the entire town and eventually sucumbed to the siren call of McIndians. Best. Food. Ever. From there we got lost for a while and eventually made it to the Orange Tree, which is a nice, chilled out 20 somethings bar. It was at the Orange Tree that Arun and I discovered the Chocolate Martini =necter of the gods my friends. Definitely the best bar I've been in since arriving here. Good music, good crowd and amazing martinis.


My only complaint thus far? English radio. I unintentionally listened to four hours of techno last night. It was slightly better than the top 40 station that plays the same five songs over and over again. The techno is awful and inescapable. It needs to end.

That's about all for now, pictures soon I promise!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb