On the air


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Leicestershire » Leicester
February 7th 2007
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tonight was definitely one of the best times I've had here thus far. As much as I loved London, I have to admit that Leicester has a much homier feel and better bars. The consensus is that the Orange Tree bar in Leicester is where it's at. They play really good music ranging from indie, to mainstream rock like Red Hot Chili Peppers. They don't make you pay to check your clothes (which led to a group of people boarding the bus wearing only shorts and tank tops in 30 degree weather), and they don't care if you are wearing tennis shoes or not. Plus the orange lighting scheme gives it a cool feel. Arun, Ryan, Lyndsey and I headed out tonight around 8, figuring we'd only spend an hour or more there. However, it was happy hour and we had discovered a number of delicious gimmick shots and Tolberone Martinis (an Orange Tree specialty). They have this shooter called a B52. It was absolutely the best thing I've ever had. 2 hours later and well into our happy places, we headed out in search of Falafel. Unfortunately McIndians was closed so we went to McDonalds. McDonalds does not vary in it's mediocrity from continent to continent, but I will say that the English version of the Fish Filet has the best bread buns in the world (and the sweet and sour sauce was deliciously American). We grabbed our food and ran to catch the last bus out of city centre. We were the only people on the double decker bus and hilarity ensued.

At least the others did. I sat around listening to the radio and a guy called in and said how much he loved America and the American accent. This was extremely refreshing after having my accent ridiculed by a drunked pair of 14 year old girls at a busstop in City Centre (I wish I was lying), and having the American national anthem booed by a pack of Liverpool boys in the dorms last night (really wish I was lying about that one). I called in the station and they put me on the air. It was nice to hear some positive stuff about America, and to talk to someone who wants to visit really badly. It was a much needed pick up after an unfortunately negative experience.

Advertisement



20th February 2007

Hey Cuz...
Well, well, well, lookie here. My darling cousin invading Great Britain, and obviously having quite a time! Sounds like you're having a ball, just don't forget to enjoy some of the non-alchoholic wonders England has to offer ; ) Randy urges you to have a Guinness for him. I say have fun, study hard, and relish the opportunity. Getting a different worldview will make your writing that much sharper. Be good, kiddo! Love, JT

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb