Another pictureless post


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
January 30th 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Steadily approaching week three in GB. I finally have a routine set down with my classes (which ended up being History of the English Language, Medieval Lit, and Current Issues in International Relations). I am absolutely in love with the city of Leicester. It has a wonderful city centre with an open air market that operates on the weekend. The best food I've had since I've been in Britain has surprising come from a place called McIndians - a fast food Indian restaurant that Arun and I discovered. They have a small concession stand near the uni that Arun and I hit up for lunch as often as possible. I've eaten a good deal of British cuisine at this point and nothing has rivaled good old McIndians.

For the record Americans have absolutely nothing on the Brits when it comes to drunken debacherous insanity. These people have beer bongs for esophoguses. My drinking career ended roughly a week ago at the cruel hand of a six pack of Strongbow-Natty Light's sadistic, xenophobic British cousin. I couldn't go near an alcoholic drink for a week and for the rest of my life I will associate Cheese Nips with the floor of the Shirley House bathroom. I managed to rally my beer pong skills during yet another Shirley House party last night that Arun and I played into overtime and eventually won.

The Uni had a Refresher Fair of all campus organizations last night. I joined the Mountaineering Club (rock climbing), Ju Jitsu and (hehe) the Surf Club. The Mountaineering club had its first meeting tonight. I learned how to properly tie my line on the harness and did a few runs. I made it up to the top on the first run, but gave out halfway up on the second. They meet three times a week and it's definitely something I want to get good at. Ju Jitsu is mainly to regain some fitness and strength. Surf club should be a good lark. They actually go on outings in the southwest of England. Should be a good oppertunity to see the country and embaress myself.

Probably the most striking element of going to The University of Leicester is my daily ride on the Paternoster Lift. For those of you not acquainted with the Paternoster, it is a death trap disguised as an elevator. (Side note, this lift is located in the 15 story tall Attenborough Tower - named after the old fellow from Jurassic Park). The function of the Paternoster is difficult to explain without pictures (which, God willing, will eventually follow). Imagine an elevator without doors that one has to run and jump into (and out of) as it moves up and down between floors on a track similar to that of a ferris wheel. I was with a pack of Americans when we first came upon this contraption. We stood there giggling while a crusty old British man stood by in amusement as we basically fell into this stupid thing. As you can imagine it moves kind of quick. To get out you have to jump out before the lift gets too high. I also didn't understand what "ALIGHT AT FLOOR 2" meant and found myself stuck in total darkness before it moved to the left and began to continue upwards. Scary thing, that Paternoster.

That's about it for now. I went to Lincoln with some other Americans a few days ago to see the castle and cathedral. Post on that soon when I can finally upload pictures. It takes too long and the computer freezes if I try it during the day due to all the people on the server. I've got some amazing pictures of the picture and surrounding landscape, so hopefully those are on the way soon.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb