106 Days and Counting


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
December 15th 2009
Published: December 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Im sitting here day dreaming about our trip of a life time away...again!

Ive worked out it is:

152640 minutes
2544 hours
106 days
3 months

Until we leave my mums in Kent and fly off to Malaysia, sounds quite a long time but since my last blog 3 months ago the time has flown by.

Everything is going well with the rental of our flat, the tenants that are in the there at the moment are due to renew/end their contract in February and we are both hoping so much that they will want to sign up for another 6/12 months, but time will tell....will have to keep everything crossed in the meantime.

I have been going a bit crazy booking various things up, Phil keeps telling me I shouldnt keep on making arrangements but I just cant help it, its so nice to think of all the things we will be doing along the way.

But I have promised him, and myself now that I wont plan anything else.

To be fair, I havent booked that much up....or at least I dont think I have.

We found bargain flights on Air Asia a month ago to Australia, they had a huge sale on where the seats were free and all you paid for were the taxes, so we got a return flight each from Kuala Lumpur to Brisbane for the bargain price of just £230 in total, as this was such a bargain it could not be missed.......

Other various little things have been planned, but no payments made for these, so to me they dont really count as they can be cancelled and/or rearranged.

We have finally let our work in on a little secret, that we are leaving. 1 months notice is only needed, but we thought we would be kind and give them plenty of notice as we do work at the same place for the same department, so now our plans are out in the open and can be spoken about freely, no more hushed comversations or emails in secret 😊

I cannot actually quite believe we are quitting our jobs and leaving the country in March. I know it may not be a big deal to alot of people, but this is something that we have been dreaming of doing for a long time now. When we first met, we discussed travelling (over 5 years ago!) and now we are actually putting our plans in to action. Im a bit of a whirlwind when I decide to do something, as Phil will tell you, he is more the type of person to sit back and think of things for a while - there is nothing wrong with this - and I am the type of person who thinks of doing something and does is - there is quite alot wrong with this sometimes - so I think we compliment each other nicely.

Phil asked me last week what my 'dreams' in life are, and to be honest I cant really think of anything other than seeing the world. There is so much out there that needs to be seen, I dont want to get to 80 and regret not doing things whilst I had the chance, so this is out BIG chance and I want it to be as brilliant as it possibly can be.

We are seeing family and friends whilst we are on our travels, which will be fantastic, as it will bring a little bit of 'home' to us. Im a bit worried about what to take/what not to take, but then have to keep on reminding myself we arent headed to the middle of no where, we are going to be in cities and civilisation and that everything I need will be around me.....most of the time anyways!

I think the hardest thing will definately be missing family, but then we have our little netbook and are on Skype so will be able to actually see and talk at the same time....Im only 23 but am still amazed by technology!

Anyway, will stop babbling now, I suppose I should get on with some work.....hope everyone is well, and that if we arent seeing you over Christmas - have a good one 😊

Victoria -x-
(& Phil - busy working away downstairs!)

Advertisement



16th December 2009

Test
Here is a test comment. :) Mel
16th December 2009

Missing you already
Lovely to read about your travels ... can't wait to see the regular installments!! You only live once so go out there and enjoy yourselves ... before you settle down and have babies - ha ha - I can see Phil looking worried :) and you both compliment each other perfectly! Have fun little sister ... I wish I was coming too! xxx
16th December 2009

Whooop!
I can't believe that the two of you are finally, finally fulfilling your dreams!! It's going to be a great experience for you both and am oh so jealous that come March, you'll be blowing it all off to travel!! Am well excited to meet up with you in Thailand/Cambodia though.... Gonna have us some wicked fun =) xxx

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb