2022- A Year of Changes?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Herefordshire
January 1st 2022
Published: January 1st 2022
Edit Blog Post

 Christmas 2021 Christmas 2021 Christmas 2021

It was a wet one... and very mild. A walk around the lanes with Kenji
This is my second winter of non-travel. The New Year came in like a lamb - unseasonably warm (15 degrees in some places) and I was actually in bed but awake at Midnight and watched the fireworks over the Thames on my laptop. Kenji sent a New Year message , and Stevie in Tokyo and Maureen in Worcester.

It was good to have some purpose in getting up this morning. I did some yoga, had a shower and waited for Carrie to come by and pick me up to go to a vintage car rally at Much Marcle. Carrie's vitality and interest in doing things and going to new places was one of the things that kept me going through last year, with long discussions and stories of our past lives and walks along the canal and the back lanes of Worcester.

Her late partner had a vintage car and had introduced her to both traditional jazz and vintage car rallies, and she hoped to meet up with some of the people she'd lost contact with. We arrived at The Royal Oak at Much Marcle, and were soon joined by Julie (from the Clover Mill) . Carrie knew so
Much Marcle Vintage Car RallyMuch Marcle Vintage Car RallyMuch Marcle Vintage Car Rally

Carrie with Chris and his car
many people there, and the car owners were delighted to talk about their cars and the restoration which resulted in the gleaming beauties before us. I was reminded of our first family car .... I think it was an Austin Seven, not managing to get up Fish Hill at Broadway on our way home to Hertfordshire from Grafton Flyford and a holiday with Aunty Peggy and Uncle Henry. We had to get out and walk up with the dog so the old car could struggle up the incline. We spoke to a lovely man who showed us photos of the amazing trip he and his wife had done in their two little 90 year old Austin Sevens .... Peking to Paris ... in 2011. It looked like such a great adventure and it reminded me of the travel adventures I'm missing so much. I loved the enthusiasm of all the vintage car nerds and the way their faces lit up when the talked about them. I look a photo of Carrie with Chris and his car. He was her late partner's mechanic and has a beautiful old car himself.

Back to my place (Julie had left to take Millie-dog for a walk) and had cake and tea. Talked about preparing a Chinese New Year dinner this year. It's difficult to plan anything when we don't know how the year will go. We're all expecting a difficult January and February with Covid , but hoping that the year will gradually get better for the world.

Lots of messages from the Singapore Ladies. As Gail says ..... we're all still here.



OK ... so now I'm off to bed with a book - The Bear Boy by Cynthia Ozick.

I'll see if I can keep this daily journal going.



Sunday 2nd January started out quite bright after a night of torrential rain. I did a session of yoga with Adriene and then made myself drive up to West Malvern , and take a walk around North Hill. There were quite a few people up there, plus dogs and children. I always reckon that the ones who walk straight by and look straight through you without a smile, a nod or a friendly word , are not locals. I make sure to try and get eye contact and greet everyone I pass. I miss Lottie-dog up there though. The only familiar faces were Oin and Paula , Caro's friend from West Malvern. Julie was interested in going to a jazz evening at the Cube. Carrie had told us about it. But omicron cases are rising and we all decided not to go. Annie came round with an oat milk delivery from her Waitrose order and we sat in my kitchen chatting with our masks on. The children go back to school at the end of the week. Numbers of people with covid continue to rise, but it doesn't seem as if they will bring in any further restrictions.

Feeling lazy too. Luckily there were some good programmes on TV. David Tennant in Around the World in 80 Days and then him again in Mary Queen of Scots.

Monday 3rd also a public holiday this year as New Years Day was on a Saturday . I started the day trying to sort out queries from the accountant , and then went over to Clover Mill and a muddy walk with Millie and Julie.

Had a cup of tea with Pat in the afternoon.

Tuesday 4th January

Drove over to Rhosgoch
Pauline pensivePauline pensivePauline pensive

In Shepherds, Hay-on-Wye
and tidied up the J4T jewellery ready to take to Chris Armstrong.Had a look at the new garden room which is lovely , light and airy and looks as if it's been there for ever. Pauline and I drove down to Hay and had a look around. The sales were on and I bought two pairs of trousers in Number Two. We had a coffee and shared a brownie in Shepherds. Took the unsold stock to the Armstrongs at Clifford and had a chat. Heard about all their plans to get planning permission for the barn across the road. All sounds like hard work.

I came home . Had an email from Jemima to say that they've had an offer on John's house. So maybe things ARE on the move!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb