Wow April


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Sale
April 1st 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Northern Quarter,ManchesterThe Northern Quarter,ManchesterThe Northern Quarter,Manchester

James, Craig and Me last night, enjoying a little drink or 2:)
Just realized this morning thats now April, another month gone and another month closer to my Grand Adventure,it was originally a trip, but some friends on the Couch Surfing site said it was too much to be called a trip.

So its now officially my Grand Adventure, i was out with friends last night in the Northern Quarter in Manchester city center and so im feeling a little worse for wear this morning.

I think minimizing for a trip just shows how much value ourselves in the west put into materialistic things and how we waste money. I am selling more stuff on eBay and the fact i still have stuff to sell on eBay goes to show how much time and money i have wasted on stuff that i have been used or worn once.

I think far too much in the westernized part of the world, that we put too much value into having the latest car and the latest flat screen TV. We always want more than what we have and we always seem to thing the grass is greener, the is the temptation to think yes that guy has this and that and i want that aswell.

I mean as long as you have the basics like a roof over your head, food and a family who love you and your in pretty good health.....then pretty much you are better off than some poor guy in China in the MG factory who gets £5 per day.

All this minimizing has made me realize that how much i really need and how much is supplemental and is me just being greedy.I am also hoping my round the world adventure will keep me in this frame of mind.

I read another blog on here, were a guy said that India they appreciate things alot more, they are not striving to be the guy with the Aston Martin or whatever, they see the guy with a disability or maybe who has no family and things at least i have what i have.

So im hoping i don't get swallowed up again by the corporate monster we have in the Western world, i have been lost before in credit and a spending spiral lifestyle.Buying designer stuff and buying gadgets that may never use.

Sorry ive deviated here, but well it all circles back round to my travels, i think my travels will be a once in a lifetime opportunity, but also help me develop as a person an individual.

Maybe this tour could be classed as extravagant, but i will try to be green as possible when traveling and i hope that at least some of my tourist pound/dollar will get to some of the locals and will help😊, well i can always hope.


Well im going to sign off for now

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb