$100 Kobe & a Shandy


Advertisement
Published: April 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Front living roomFront living roomFront living room

part of my room in Manchester. out the front window there on the 2nd night, there was a film crew shooting a drama much of the night.

my room at The Place
Up at 5am, breakfast by 6, to the airport by 7:15, and on our way to Manchester by 8:45. The flight was very short, with a good bit of turbulence, but they still fed us juice and breakfast sandwiches that were actually pretty good. You'd never find that in the US in economy class on a flight under an hour. We arrived in Manchester, took a taxi to our hotel, The Place Apartments, and took an hour to settle in before we met our guide, Lisa, at noon. My room is actually a 2 bedroom apartment suite. There is a front living room, a kitchen 2 bathrooms, and 2 bedrooms. It is bigger than our apartment back home. Check out the video tour (horrible video, but you get the idea). I went downstairs and found Lisa in the lobby, and she immediately knew I was part of the crew. I figured it was because of my camera case, but she later informed me it was because of my movie star teeth. I quickly calculated that my parents had easily spent 6,000 pounds on their children's orthodontic work. Before leaving the hotel, we all went over the plans for the next
bed for my DVXbed for my DVXbed for my DVX

i had two bedrooms at the hotel in Manchester, so I figured i might as well let my camera have one
few days, and instead of getting right to work, we got lunch at a wonderful and historical pub called Mr. Thomas' Chop Shop. We all had fish and chips, enjoying the wonderful atmosphere and the excellent service. We shot a little bit of footage there, but not too much. Our guide, Lisa, who is actually originally from Kansas City, then took us to a farmer's market just a short walk away where, despite the rain, we got some of the best bits for the show that we've done. There was a couple selling blood sausage, and then we got great footage of a stand selling white cattle beefburgers, and then more good stuff at a Sri Lankan chutney booth. Next we went to an indoor market and got footage at a fish stand, talked to the manager of the Manchester Food and Drink Festival, and got a lot of produce footage. Then, it was time for dinner already, so we went to the Grill In The Alley, a really nice restaurant that sells a Kobe steak for 50 pounds ($100). We had an excellent waitress who happened to be Czech, and upon her recommendation I had my first ever Shandy, which is beer with a little bit of lemonade. It was really really good. I had chicken pot pie, which was also excellent but I was way to full to finish, and we had grilled bananas for dessert. We shot them preparing 2 Kobe steaks, but I wasn't too thrilled with all of the footage because of the lighting conditions, but oh well. We went back to the hotel pretty tired and pretty stuffed.


Advertisement



26th April 2007

At Last some Beef on the Menu!!
Now were talking food...I'll fight you for some of that beef. I was beginning to think this was going to be the all lamb show, I wonder if Shari Lewis would guest host??? Nice to see someone else noticed your blond good looks and perfect teeth, we always say you're on the wrong end of the camera.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb