Laundry & Manchester United


Advertisement
Published: April 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ran to the Spar (convenience store) this morning to get some detergent so that I could do some laundry in my room instead of paying over $3 to wash a pair of socks. The washer/dryer combo was a bit difficult to figure out, and now my clothes are clean but not dry. They seem to spin and spin but not dry. Oh well. We met up at Caffe Nero down the street from the hotel for a quick breakfast and our guide and driver picked us up for a little driving tour of the city. We went past Manchester United's stadium, where a big game is going down tonight against AC Milan. I don't follow "real" football, so I don't know how big of a game it really is, but I think it is a big playoff game. We also saw the harbor district of Manchester, which has is being turned from a industrial area into a new trendy residential area, with a lot of lofts and apartments being built up, apparently going for prices similar to what lofts near downtown LA start at. We moved on to an area about 5 miles out of the city to where our guide, Lisa, lives, and we visited a little organic deli and restaurant where we did a little shooting. Our driver needed to drop us off at 1pm back at St. Anne's Square, where the farmer's market from yesterday was located, and we shot a sausage vendor and had some fantastic bratwurst. We tried to shoot at the Selfridges food court, but the manager wasn't there, so we moved on to eat a late lunch around 4pm at a pub near the Triangle after checking out a few items, including $14 Lucky Charms and $10 Oreos. We went back to the hotel and I tried to do more laundry unsuccessfully. It was nice to be done shooting by about 6pm, so I took a walk for about an hour, but unfortunately it was Tuesday night, and the Manchester United game was starting at 7:45pm, so everything was pretty quiet where my walk took me. All of the coffee shops were closed before 7pm. I was still very happy to have the chance to just explore a little. I got back to the hotel just as the football game was starting. It was in the 3rd minute as I walked through the lobby, and by the time I got to my room and turned the TV on, it was in the 8th minute and Man U had scored, 1-0. Milan tied it and then went ahead 2-1 before the half. Throughout the game there was a BBC film crew shooting a drama in the room next door to mine. I never asked them what it was called though. Manchester tied it up not too far into the second half, and then, in the 90+1 minute, Rooney scored his second goal of the night to win it with barely any stoppage time left, saving the game. I'm sure the fans are going nuts all over the city, but I haven't heard any celebrating outside my window, which actually surprises me a bit. By this time I had finally figured out the dryer.

Advertisement



26th April 2007

I hate Sports
I have always found the best time to shop is during the super bowl, no one is at the mall. William H. and I had a nice little talk about sports one day. We both felt the same boredom and total lack of interest. So I want to know what the trick was to getting dry socks?? And of even more interest, why were your socks the only thing wet? Will you be visiting the Queen? Oh if you get the chance you should say hi to those english cousins..oh what are their names, Colin and....I know I met them once very nice, I'm sure they eat lamb too.

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb