Stamps honoring gold medal winners


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 7th 2012
Published: June 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.5002, -0.126236

A Fantastic Olympics Souvenir



I am not a big fan of souvenirs. Photographs of places that
I have visited and of persons that I have met sustain my memories longer than
any key chain, pennant, sweater, coffee mug, or other trinket can. This is even
truer of the London Olympics where the mascot is a single eyed creature that
looks like an oversized thumb and where the logo is a map of London
broken into four pieces. However, there is a special souvenir, actually a
series of souvenirs, which I will bring back to Seattle.
Whenever a member of Team Great Britain
wins a gold medal, and there have been sixteen such winners at the time that I
am writing this, the Royal Mail Service goes into overdrive to design and print
a commutative stamp honoring the champion. These stamps are available at the
local post office by 9:30 am the next
day. A souvenir sheet of six identical
stamps costs 3 pounds and 60 pence which is about $5.75 USD. The stamps contain
a photograph of the athlete(s) that was taken at the time of his or her victory
so it is not as if the service has 400 plus stamps already printed to be issued
if someone wins. While I am rooting for Team USA
I also am happy whenever someone from Team Great Britain
wins. I hope that they win many more golds but not so many I that have to eat
Raman noodles to afford all the stamps.One of the attached images shows the first two stamps that were issued: (1) Helen Glover and Heather Stanning in Women's Pairs Sculls, and (2) Bradley Wiggins in Men's Time Trial Road Cycling.



Advertisement



9th August 2012

Could you get me a pair of these stamps, they are great?

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb