Back to London....after years away...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 12th 2016
Published: June 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

It's been a while since I've visited London. Could actually not remember when that was....so just went back few years in my blog...and yes, it was 2008!



https://www.travelblog.org/Europe/United-Kingdom/England/Greater-London/blog-234009.html



Fun to see those pictures of Tiffany ad Leslie.... It doesn't make me feel younger! Imagine, back at University, I was running day trips to London! Yes, we would go by train-ferry-train overnight...spend the full day walking around and visiting the amazing city...and doing the same train-ferry-train the following night! I was young, and it was something like 30 euros max for the return trip! This was way before the low cost airlines....and even slightly before the arrival of any decent internet! I knew the world was only waiting for me to discover it!



Today things have changed a little...I can still do London in a day....but I'm landing in Heathrow at 7am after few glasses of champagne and a good night sleep i a "near bed" on the upper-deck of a Thai Airways A380! Sleeping in London has never been cheap. Last time we were sleeping at the Ritz, but I was invited by the hotel and didn't pay. So this time, I'm blowing few points to sleep in an Holiday Inn by Earl's Court. Easy to reach by the tube from Heathrow....and next morning, just few minutes walk for the Easy Bus early ride to Gatwick!



London was not cheap 20 years ago, and this hasn't changed...12 pounds for a day pass on the tube/busses, originating from Heathrow! Twenty years ago, I may have dreamed of living in this city...today, I may be a little wiser or not...but why people do fight or dream to live here...in shoe boxes...just to look the part! No way, my next move will be by the sea...and the only shopping I'll do regularly...is for great affordable food...and amazing wines!



After dropping my bags at the hotel...I thought...hey, I haven't seen the change of the guards at Buckingham for a good 20 years! Why not go back? My room was not ready...so I asked the Concierge at what time it started. Sir, no change of the Guards today, it's Trooping the Colour in St James Park. And it's starting at 10am. I have to admit, I have strictly no idea what Trooping the Colour means...and it was 9.20am, so I was probably too late. Don't laugh if you are a Brit!



Never mind, I made my way to Westminster Tube Station. I could always visit the Churchill War Room that I've never been to. Once out of the station, walking to Downing Street, I understood pretty fast that something was happening! Is there a wedding somewhere around....it was full British Fashion around, and we were not in Ascot. Well, I found out pretty fast that today, is the Queen 90th Birthday! Happy Birthday Her Majesty! And if I wanted to see something, I'd rather speed up to try to reach the Mall in St James Park! As you can guess, I was not invited to the proper stands!



This took me most of my morning...and I did not have the patience to wait for the show to come back to Buckingham and see the fly over at 1pm. Instead, I jump on buses. I wanted to find the Lonely Planet Central Asia....yes, I'm going soon to the Stans...and the only fashioned book should still be useful for some tips! Tried first Selfridges on Oxford Street....nope...than Harrods...no chance here too....my first Waterstones....neither...Ok, I was getting closer, and found it in the next one! Time to buy few more shirts too....it's London after all...shopping time!



By 5pm, I was...ready to sleep early...rain started, went to do some more shopping for my next stop...writing this actually from my little balcony and cool views!



London it was....and I guess, I'll need to come back as I never made it to the Churchill War Room. Maybe I will not have to wait 8 more years!



This is the first entry of 70 days on the road...and this summer, I'll go a little everywhere....with some more entries with my Girls to come soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb