The South African way of life....


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Shelly Beach
May 29th 2016
Published: June 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I should have written this entry a while ago....but here it is...the last few weeks have been slightly on the run. Long amazing week-end diving with Tiffany....than 10 days between Lubumbashi and Kinshasa. If you have followed the news lately, let say that Congo is in the middle of a turmoil for the moment. So getting around is just a little more "interesting"...and not really for those without contacts to tell them....stay in...or yes, you can go around and venture outside of your hotel! Safe I stay....worked I did a lot...but as always around Africa....it's not because we see demonstrations on international television....that life doesn't continue the daily routine, just around the corner!



Next went another week-end in KZN with Tiffany...another great sunny week-end...followed by few days around Bangkok, Phuket, Saigon...Bangkok...and now back in the lounge of Thai Airways, just 10 days after being back from Africa via Dubai!



In two weeks, Tiffany will be reaching the half mark of her first school year in South Africa! And what can I say beside....the little girl is doing pretty well! She is now home in SA! South Africa...as planned...should be soon or later my new home too...but the last few days have shown me, that it could happen slightly earlier than the 21 months mark that were planned before my own move! We'll see!



We did 4 dives on our first week-end in Shelly Beach, and one more dive two weeks later! The raggies are back...and my underwater camera is...out! It went in freezing mode on one dive on the first week-end...and yes, it did flood on the only dive of the second week-end! I went down as always fast to 5 meters....the water went in...even coming back fast up to the boat didn't help. That camera is down...forever! So next stop for me, the new Nikon..without housing....that is officially going to 30 meters. We'll check how it will react in September at 35 meters on Protea Bank! Still need to go shopping for it first! No regret for my old camera....it did his job...and was clearly going to face some serious problems at some stage. Well, it did!



The sharks were properly out. We had tons of raggies....no pics here...and tons of oceanic black tip charging us. The black tip are so nervous lately, that it's pretty hard to snap a shot when they come so close. Look at that pic of Tiffany....she had to move to let the shark dive! Oh...Tiffany is now officially an expert diver on Protea Bank! I ...and I'm not the only one....can't stop smiling when a bunch of senior local divers from Durban couldn't stop wondering how old was/is the little girl!



Great to see Tiffany so happy! I have to admit, during those week-end...we dive....we spend amazing time sharing amazing food....and I run on the golf course while Tiff is enjoying some faster internet time to contact the outside world! But each time, bringing her back to school....I can't stop thinking....I/We made a great choice...but I'm going to miss my young lady over the coming weeks! Well....she is back...in just 2 weeks....I told you, it's a small world!



On my side, I'm going to the rainy capital tomorrow....and than crossing the world again...I'm on the road again, and this time, it's a good 70 days of it...so apologizes...it's going to be a summer of blogging! Love the road!


Additional photos below
Photos: 80, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



12th June 2016
Oceanic Black Tip

Nice
Sharks ahoy.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb