London - Day 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 28th 2015
Published: March 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Wow, arrive at 6am London time at Heathrow airport. Collect my luggage and through customs to find my shuttle to my hotel.

Once I arrive at my hotel, I have a quick wash (as my room wasn't ready) and change to go on my first day of walking around this wonderful city.

I head out to first of all find a coffee. Starbucks it has to be, and with a croissant for breakfast to get my energy going at South Kensington. From there a nice walk along Cromwell Road past the Natural History Museum and the Victoria and Albert Museum. On along Brompton Road past Harrods (well a quick looksie inside of course). Continuing up to Knightsbridge up to Hyde Park Corner. So many people around on this very nice day. The sun shining and the trees nice and green. A walk past the Australian War Memorial and the Wellington Arch, down Constitution Hill. The park looked amazing so I decided to go for a walk through it and up to Piccadilly. I was just in awe of the beauty of the surrounds as I made my way back through the park to Buckingham Palace. The Victoria Memorial sparkled in the sunshine and the grounds were immaculate. I spent a nice long time looking at the beauty of area. It was near lunchtime so decided it was time for a beer at the local pub near Buckingham palace. What a quaint little place to sit and relax and get a nice long drink.

Walking back toward my hotel, up Grosvenor Place and then into the area where the embassies are for various countries. Their flags waving at the front of their offices was a pretty sight.

Back to Brompton Road and a little bit of shopping - of course - and then back to the hotel to check in and have a bit of a snooze before going out for the evening.

Up and getting ready to go to the Royal Albert Hall. I have been waiting to do this for a long time, and am looking very forward to it. Dressed for the balcony seat that I booked for Prom 57 2015. I brought a drink - Hibiscus Moet prior to the start, and another had at the half time break. It was amazing and something I will remember for a long time. By the end I was very ready for bed. Finally home and sound to sleep. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb