Day Two - the big bus tour.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
November 21st 2014
Published: November 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Started out today at a little coffee shop that i am quite enjoying the coffee there, in Queensway. Then to the big bus, and decided it was Harrods as the first stop. Boy, that place is amazing, I have never seen a shop like this one. Very strategically layed out. Of course you dont go to Harrods if you aren't going to spend money. lol

Started my Christmas shopping, and of course brought for myself.Took a good couple of hours walking around the place, and took some pictures of the Christmas decorations in the windows.

Then onto the bus again, 12.15 and thought I would make it in time for the Harry Potter walking tour. No such chance, the traffic in the Victoria area was terrible. At one point at a big roundabout - 3 lanes wide - all i could think of was the Mr Bean sketch where he was stuck on the roundabout. It was in fact the roundabout with the Australian War Memorial. Half the trip took a good 1 and a half hours, and thus missed the walking tour. So continued on the bus, thinking that I will just go for the ride and hop of near home. That didnt work either, an hour later was stll about 10 stops out of 42 from my hotel, via the bus route, or 2kms on foot. I opted for the foot route, although it was raining by now, and getting dark. All good, stopped at a pub for a beer which was quaint and the staff were quite friendly - then it got busy with suits walking in, who made the place change completely. The staff stopped with the niceties, and focussed on the suits. They lost my business for another beer and meal, as their focus was on the suits. Thus, they got a bad review from me.

Anyway, the bus was enjoyable, and most of the staff on the big bus were nice and considerate even with the traffic the way it was. I found it very relaxing with the earphone commentary as well. My travel buddy, Dobby, got in a few more pictures today as well.. 😊

Back to the hotel, for a nice nap before dinner downstairs, and then a relaxing night at my room. Tomorrow is Notting Hill - and the Portabello Markets.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb