Year in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 26th 2014
Published: October 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


FriendsFriendsFriends

Going away don't forget to take your friends with you
My whole year in London was filled mostly with hard work and only few small trips.

First part of my staying there I was stressed out by apartment search, bank account problems and the fact that I don't have many friends ( which turned out to be not true as people form London turned out to be amazing friends).

Don't let yourself get to overwhelmed by impostor syndrome because at some point you will loose the joy of conducting a research.

At last I finally started enjoying my stay, realized that English cuisine is not as bad as everybody claims

my favorite so far:


• faggots
• dry cider
• damson chutney
• beef and ale pie



To get myself a little bit de-stressed I've started new activities such as kick-boxing and rock climbing. And I must say those two things help me gain friends in Singapore with a speed of light. Plus they keep your mind clear and body in shape= best antidepressants for me so far (along with a lot of laughter when you do it with your friends).

As for sightseeing London apparently if you live there you constantly keep telling yourself
FriendsFriendsFriends

... and visit them from time to time
that you will go and see something a bit later due to big crowds, rain or your laziness. For me the best opportunity to see London was visit of my mom and sister. And it turned out to be a lovely though expensive as f**k city.

During this whole year I have visited France twice (once for Christmas- sweet!!!), Poland three times. Plus countless trips around London and England. That was a very good year and I'm more that happy to experience that mostly due to amazing friends I have met.

But I had no idea that the true adventure is yet about to start and be a reason to start this blog.

At the beginning of July 2014 I have arrived at Singapore....


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

ESRFESRF
ESRF

View on Alpes from one of the top synchrotrons
ESRFESRF
ESRF

Inside of the synchrotron
ParisParis
Paris

Notre Dame de Paris
ParisParis
Paris

Père Lachaise Cemetery
ParisParis
Paris

Louvre
BathBath
Bath

Bath cathedral
LondonLondon
London

Mom is on the other side of the world!
LondonLondon
London

Cutty Sark
LondonLondon
London

View from the top of skyscraper in Canary Wharf
LondonLondon
London

Night boat trip was one of the best experiences that week
londonlondon
london

Night boat trip
LondonLondon
London

I love my sister but stop taking pictures constantly!!!
LondonLondon
London

Chill out
LondonLondon
London

Sisters
LondonLondon
London

Walk along the Thames in Richmond


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb