The generosity of people


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 10th 2014
Published: August 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

What a great last few days it has been. On Saturday, I spoke to mum and dad over Skype, it was great to be able to tell them about the wonderful time I've been having. After that I made my way down to the Tate Modern gallery. It's a fair walk from the hostel but it was a beautiful day and the vibe along the river was excellent. Now, I'm not sold on modern art, in my opinion it can be a little pedestrian. In some cases I feel that anyone could create a weird sculpture. Some of the work was simply amazing though, I loved the audio-visual displays that were on offer. There was a particularly interesting one on an American guy that had gone to war and accidently shot a civilian (by Omer Fast). After the Tate I met up again with Mitch and Angus, we had, as Mitch had promised, the coldest beer in the world. It was from this cool little Brazilian restaurant in Kensal Green. After that we made our way to Shoreditch, apparently the place to go out. We had a really good night at this bar called the Book Club and made our way around the surrounding bars.

So on Sunday morning I went to church at the All Saints church on Margaret St. which was a such a pleasure. The church was simply stunning and even more impressive for the fact that without getting lost I wouldn't have found it as it is somehow hidden in the surrounding buildings. The people there were unbelievably welcoming. They have this church bar, a different take on tea and coffee, where the men in particular stick around have a G and T. So after a few of drinks and a good chat with the some of the men we made our way to lunch at an Italian restaurant. They proceeded to pay for my lunch which again is an example of the incredible generosity that I truly do appreciate. I had such a wonderful afternoon which was full of intelligent conversation about politics and the intricacies and similarities of our respective countries. After lunch I popped back to the hostel and had an hours kip before heading back to the church for evensong. It was a beautiful service which I fully enjoyed. We then made our way down to the bar again where I swapped details with a few of the blokes who said (again very generously) that I can stay with them when I come back to London. I'm having some Nachos and a beer while writing this as I prepare for my flight tomorrow. Hopefully everything goes smoothly.

Hopefully you are enjoying vicariously my travelling experience.

Tikka

Advertisement



10th August 2014

Vicariously amazing!
What a great story. Making links with people really animates travel. Sounds like an interesting hunch of Christians :) G bless

Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb