Estonia


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Tallinn
August 14th 2014
Published: August 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So, I've been a little bit busy over the last few days once arriving in my home country (well not home, but I am now a citizen here). The flight over from London was one of little space, although it all went very smoothly and I was able to get to the airport in time etc. So I got into Tallinn at about 330 and luckily for myself, a friendly face was there to meet me at the gate. Krisi Pungas (a distant relative) was there to take me to where I was to be staying. Helen and Olaf, extremely kindly offered to have me stay while in Estonia. They have two young children, Rasmus and Robert, who are both confused as to why an Estonian looking man is simply unable to respond in turn. So after I got dropped off at the house, the right one thankfully, we went on a drive out North West of Tallinn. They took me to the second largest waterfall in Estonia. It was beautiful if not spectacular and the surrounding forest was particularly serene. We then drove back along the coast toward Tallinn and stopped to look out over the Gulf of Finland. After we returned they put on a BBQ for me. One thing, among many, that Aussies and Estonians have in common is the love of a summer BBQ. Let's just say that I'm not going to lose any weight while I am here. So we had a delicious BBQ and some delicious range of Saku beers to taste as well. Olaf and I continued to sample some more beer and before we knew it we had been talking for hours and it was 2 O'clock. The next day I woke up in the morning in the hope of finding a suitable bike for my ride. I thought that the city was not as far as it is and proceeded to walk the 12 or so km. It was not the best idea, especially doing it with no socks on, leading to slightly sever blistering of the skin. I didn't find a bike to buy, but I was able to find the store and the type of bike that would take me through Europe.

I spent the rest of the day just relaxing in the Old Town, snoozing in the park above Vabaduse Square and just generally enjoying the lovely weather on offer. I was picked up by Krisi again to have a dinner with her family who have been very kind and generous to our family over many years. It was so great to see Priit and the family again. They also prepared a big feed for me, full of meat and vegetables and all types of tasty treats. Karoli (Krisi's sister) and her fiancée also came to dinner a little later and it was great to meet Derek and see Karoli again. So after such a long day it was good to come home and just be able to spread out on the bed and let my legs rest.

Yesterday, things got real. I bought my bike, his name is Benji and he shall be my noble steed over the next few months (hopefully anyway). He is a Merida crossway 5 and altogether with panniers set me back €360 so it was a pretty good deal. So after I had made my purchase at Veloplus I used their wifi to Skype mum and dad. It was great to be able to see them and they me. We spent an hour or so just chatting, with dad continuing to remind me that I must acquire home and away Estonian football shirts (and not to get him a large at any cost). After we had finished talking I went into the city via the most indirect route possible. Essentially, I got lost. I eventually found my way in and it was all hunky dory. Having locked my bike up I made up my mind to find Chocolat de Pierre, a beautiful little café hidden away in the old town. When I looked where I thought it was, it appeared to have shut down, but luckily I was just looking in the wrong place. So I sat down, read my book and broke the bank for a coffee, its such a wonderful place that I don't mind spending a bit extra to be there. After my coffee I met Karoli and Derek again at Vablane, a cool little bar right in the city. They brought along one of their Estonian friends who also spoke very good English. I had planned to ride back to Helen and Olaf's place, but the heavens decided it would be a good time to open, so I was stuck in the city. After some manoeuvring of wheels etc. we managed to fit my bike into Derek's car and they offered to take me back. We wet via an old prison quarry that has been turned into a man made lake, it had a very eerie quality which I could not place. Apparently this Romu, is not a very nice place as all the prisoners just moved from the jail into the town. After that they dropped me back home where Olaf had prepared smoked fish. Needless to say it was extremely well met by my stomach. The European athletic championships are on at the moment and the big Estonian hope, Gerd Kanter, finished second in the discuss. So that was fun to watch. Olaf and I again talked late into the night/early into the morning before we realised what time it was. So I am pretty tired now but I've decided to have a rest day, just chilling out and catching up on writing my blog, as you can see its been a very busy, but very enjoyable first few days in Tallinn.

I'm sorry to make you read such a long piece, ill try to keep them shorter in future.

Cheers,

Tikka

Advertisement



Tot: 0.702s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2978s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb