SIghtseeing


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 9th 2014
Published: August 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So yesterday morning was spent organising my way to Estonia, I leave London to go to Tallinn on Monday on Easyjet, hopefully everything goes smoothly. Anyway, so that took up the majority of the morning. At about 11:30 I walked down to Trafalgar square to have a look at the British National Gallery which is full of amazing art as well as history. My personal favourites were the Cézanne and Van Gough works (not really all that ground-breaking), but I also found that I loved the atmospheric work of Salvator Rosa. It was such an enjoyable experience and again I didn't get to see everything before my legs grew weary. I took a little break to watch the street performers in Trafalgar Square (some were better than others, I'll leave it at that).

From there I walked down to the river and past the London eye, a truly enormous structure. The South Bank was packed and had a real carnival atmosphere. Back across the river are the houses of parliament and the beautifully grand Westminster Abbey. I sadly discovered that it costs 18 pounds just to go in so I contented myself with a snooze on the Abbey lawns in the beautiful weather. I've been enjoying just wandering around London. The city is so well set up for walkers with signs all around the city directing you to the underground or major sights or activities. I've found that I have hardly needed to use the underground due to the time that I have on my hands. So, I continued on my way towards Buckingham Palace, which is pretty spectacular. The intricacies of the fence alone are pretty amazing. I had been on my feet for a while so I took an extended break in Hyde Park, reading my book under the trees. I've loved the park culture in London, everyone enjoys the well kept parks in the centre of London, it's a refreshing break from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets.

So I made my way back towards the hostel, back through Trafalgar square. On my way back I got severely distracted by a beautiful bookstore, Hatchards. Unfortunately for me its the type of store that doesn't have any sales or cheapies. So as a backpacker it is not ideal. But I still enjoyed browsing their four stories of wall to wall books. That was pretty much the day, I've loved it here and look forward to coming back at some stage, there is so much culture here that I haven't had the chance to see.

As you can imagine, I'm sleeping pretty well after all the walking that I've been doing.

Cheers,

Tikka

Advertisement



10th August 2014

Love seeing the sights through your eyes :)

Tot: 0.411s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb