First full day in London town


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 7th 2014
Published: August 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So today was my first full day in London. After getting an absolutely splendid sleep I woke up with great optimism at what the day would bring. I decided that the main activity for the day would be the British Museum. I traversed, on foot (after many wrong turns), to the museum where I was to find that it actually hadn't opened yet. I was only to wait a few minutes before my eyes were exposed to the greatest and most expansive history lesson I have yet come across. I had such a wonderful few hours wandering the simply huge museum. It took me from Ancient Egypt all the way through to post WWII sketches, and I didn't even get the chance to see everything before my legs gave out. After I left at about 1:30 I caught up with Mitch and Angus (who are working for a paintball promotion company) for the afternoon. The weather has been kind so far and we enjoyed an ale or two while watching the cricket at a very quintessentially English Pub. We earlier indulged in a spot of Shisha (a flavoured smoke dispenser, I suppose you'd call it) which was delightful in the sunshine. We finished the day with a beer over looking Leicester Square (and the rest of the city) and enjoyed some of the best performers that London has to offer. All in all it was a pretty solid day, but again, I'm beat.

Cheers,

Tikka

Advertisement



Tot: 0.411s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb