Greece looses its marbles


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 2nd 2006
Published: July 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I went to the British Museum today. I figured I should see again all of those treasures pilfered from Greece, Turkey and Egypt, before I travel there myself. So I saw half of the Parthenon today. The Elgin Marbles are rather fabulous, all those missing noses and hands.

I get to see the other half of the Parthenon tomorrow.

I think London is a fabulous city, but I get to say this because I don't live here. Would I have the same attitude if I had to put up with the traffic, crowds, buses, and weather all year? I guess the grass is always greener on the other side of the Atlantic. Even on a Sunday it takes hours to cross town in a bus. And I wouldn't have it any other way, just because I don't live here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb