Athens the cold and windy


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
July 4th 2006
Published: July 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's cold and windy here in Athens, not what I expected. The flight into Athens was a comfortable BA flight complete with movie that I didn't watch and hot chicken lunch that I did eat. And this was the same price as the Easy Jet flight - no comparison.

I am so jet lagged, I am not sleeping when I am supposed to and tired during the day. I am finding this trip more difficult to adjust to. Perhaps because I wasn't well rested before I left.

Since it was overcast, I went to the Natrional Archeological Museum. Lots of old things. The Minoan treasures are great. And I saw the death mask of Agamemnon. Somebody check my spelling. There were so many statues from each period of ancient Greece, Archaic, Classical and Helenistic. Truly awesome to think I am standing next to a statue Perikles and Aristotle had stood next to.

Then I wandered to the Byzantine Musuem. This was well laid out and well displayed. Again amazing to think that while my part of the world, England, was suffering during the dark ages, a whole civilization flourished and prospered. Calling the first millenium the Dark Ages is so Anglo-centric.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb