Acropolis Now


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
July 5th 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I climbed up to the Acropolis. I saw the Parthenon, it is most impressive. I wandered around it several times. On top of the hill, it was so windy that I couldn't wear my hat. Fortunately, it's still quite cloudy here. Periodically, the sun is covered by clouds to give us a respite from the rays. But it's just not hot here at all. What's going on?

As I was leaving at about 10 am, the multitudinous tour groups started to arrive. They're funny to watch as they hundle around their leader fearing to wander off. However, everything is well explained to them, unlike my tour, which I read from my guide book.

Then I walked to the Temple of Zeus. A mostly ruined temple with only a few of the hundred or so columns left standing. But these columns are Corinthian, whereas the Parthenon columns are only Doric.

There are so many agressive vendors here all trying to sell us dinner, souveniers, tours, peanuts, lottery tickets etc. But I don't have enough room in my smaller pack to buy anything. "But I could ship it home", says the vendor, "for a mere 100 euros." You've got to be kidding? But some of these items are really nice. I especially like the replica Grecian drinking vessels. I guess you'll have to settle for postcards, my stories and photos when I return.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 25; qc: 127; dbt: 0.1512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb