An all day tour of ancient Pelleponese


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
July 7th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, I took a 12 hour bus tour to see the Corinth Canal, ancient Mycenae, the town of Napflio and the theatre at Epidavros. This was not a tour one could DIY. There just isn't the public transportation in the area, so I signed up for this tour. Only about 15 of us in a big air conditioned coach. The guide didn't stop speaking for the entire trip, she had to tell us about everything.

Ancient Mycenae dates from 1500BC, from the time of Agamemnon. We also went into the fabulous domed tomb. This part of the trip was so windy that it could take your breath away, and knock you off your feet. And very sunny.

As part of this tour, we had lunch in a large restaurant, all catered for us. Traditional Greek food of course. And as part of this tour there is the obligatory stop at a shop to buy souveniers. I didn't buy, but I did like the replica Grecian urns for 10 000 Euros. Just how to fit in my pack?

The theatre at Epidavros has awesome accoustics. It seats 16 000 people and dates from about 400 BC. You can stand at the centre and speak, you'll be heard at the top, some 70 m away.

They returned us to our hotels. Total cost for me was 78 euros. Everyone else paid 90 euros. I got a discount because I am staying at the hostel. The 12 hours on the bus, 400 km, lunch, guided tours, entry fees. It was a good deal, I enjoyed it and was thoroughly exhausted when I returned.

The next morning I visited two more museums. If you haven't seen any Cycladic Neolithic and Bronze age art, you're missing some truly wonderful work. It looks like Henry Moore meets Picasso, 4000 years ahead of its time.

I leave the Mainland tomorrow morning for Naxos: three weeks touring the Aegean.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 27; qc: 128; dbt: 0.1755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb