Portugal


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 28th 2011
Published: May 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello,

Well I have finally come to the end of my trip. I am back in London and only have 3 nights to go.

I have a fantastic time in Portugal with my Unlce and his family. It was little stressful getting there, as for some unknown stupid reason I didnt think to check where the resort was. So at 6am of the morning i am meant to fly from Barcelona to Portugal I decide to google the location. And it turned out that the resort was in a small town of Sagres, which is 1 and a half hours from Faro Airport. The other positive was that there was no public transport to Sagres! So I may have had a little bit of a freakout before emailing a company regarding a private transfer from Faro to Sagres. I flew from Barcelona to Mallorca where I had a 4 hour stop over. The airport had no internet so I had no idea if there would be a taxi waiting for me when i arrived at Faro. So after a stressful wait and a flight to Faro I arrived at the airport. I got my bags and went through the non-existent customs and then went to the arrival areas. And thank god there was a man there holding a sign with me name on it. I could have hugged him. So i took a private transfer from Faro to Sagres which cost me 90Euros ($140), and then had to book him for my return to the airport on Saturday.

After that little stressful moment the rest of my time in Portugal was great. I have learnt I am not cut out to be a nanny or to have kids any time soon! But the kids were great and it was nice to spend some quality time with them. I did get some time to myself when the kids were asleep and at night but it was fine. I went and had a Swedish Massage on Friday which was fantastic.

The resort had 4 pools and a private beach,. but I wasnt able to spend much time at these, as Emeline wasn't keen on the water or the sand, so my time was mostly spent at the house. I did get to have one swin at the beach which was fantastic. I did pick up a cold from the kids on the third day there which turned into more of a flu than a cold. I spent a couple of days in bad form, but luckily all i have now is a runny nose. I really dont want to get on my international flight sick.

Was up nice and early on Saturday (28/5) to take the taxi back to Faro airport to fly to London. Taxi picked me up at 6.30am and arrived at Faro airport at 8am. The flight was meant to leave at 10am, however once we had boarded the plane the captain informed us we would have to wait an hour to depart. I fell asleep while waiting to leave and didnt wake until we had only an hour left of the two and a half hour flight!

I took the bus from Standsted airport to London centre. Took another hour and half. I had arrived when everyone was heading to the big football final between Manchester United and Barcelona, so the tubes were packed. That was fun navigating with a backpack and a suitcase. Finally made it to my hostel around 4pm.

I went to Trafalgar square and brought myself a ticket for the Lion King production. I then really didnt want to go back to the hostel just yet, so i went to the new Pirates of the Carribean movie. I have never been to the movies by myself, or would i ever do it at home, but it didnt bother me at all over here. Movie was ok, nothing too special but it was great to sit and relax for a couple of hours. I then came back to the hostel and listen to a live band for a couple of hours. I got to bed at around 1am but didnt get to sleep to the early hours of the morning. A group of idiots decided the corridor would be a great place to have a party, and thought it was funny to bang on the doors. Wasnt impressed but couldnt be bothered to do anything about it.

Had a quiet morning and didnt leave the hostel until 11.30am. Went for a wonder around Oxford street and then made my way to Covent Garden. As mentioned I had brought myself a ticket to the Lion King. And it was amazing. The constumes alone were impressive but the whole show was fantastic. I want to go and see it again, but I spent a lot on the first ticket so dont think i can afford to!

Tomorrow I am going to hang out in the biggest shopping centre in Europe, which happens to be right across the road from the hostel. Then thank god Im going to stay with my unlce for the last 2 nights I have here. I really dont think I will miss living in hostels!

I am also wanting to get to the Camden Market before I leave so I think that will be on the agenda for Tuesday.

And then Im home!



So after 93 days, 17 countries, over 3000 photos and I dont even want to think how much I have spent, I am coming HOME!

This will probably be my last blog, as I dont think I will have access to the internet before I leave.

Oh because you are all probably wonder my favourite places are as follows:

Food and Alcohol: Poland
Night Life: Prague
Atmospher and Vibe: Berlin
City: Edinburgh
Country: Spain!

Sorry I dont actually have one favourite but maybe that will change when Im home and have time to process it all.

I have had the most amazing time, with zero regrets. Am I sad to be leaving and coming home....undecided! I dont think I will regret only travelling for three months, it is certainly something I have loved every minute of (even the bad times).

Well thats all from me! Hope you have enjoyed my little blog, and I will see you all very soon. xoxoxo


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Familia
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Gudi Building
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Inside Familia. Photo doesnt do it justice
SagresSagres
Sagres

Private beach
SagresSagres
Sagres

Inside Apartment
SagresSagres
Sagres

View from Apartment
SagresSagres
Sagres

One of four pools


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb