Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
May 19th 2011
Published: May 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

MadridMadridMadrid

Same building at the Twin Towers
Adios and farewell from Spain!

I have to say that on a whole Spain has been my favorite country, beautiful cities, fantastic weather and an overall good vibe.

Barcelona has not disappointed. It is such a beautiful city. There is so much to see and do. Barcelona is known as the pickpocketing capital of Europe, but luckily I didnt get to see that side of the city. All I saw were some amazing buildings, friendly people and great food.

My first full day in Barcelona didnt start off smoothly. Firstly I had an interesting night at the hostel. I was the first to bed at 11.30pm and when I woke at 1am I realised I was staying in a room with 5 boys and me (it was only a 6 bed dorm). That was fine, it was just a little uncomfortable in the morning. None of the guys spoke English, and they were all having conversations amongst themselves which obviously I couldnt understand. I didnt have the best night sleep because that room was extremely hot, and someone had shut the window. So up I get at 9am shower in a pretty terrible shower, where you had to
MadridMadridMadrid

Real Madrid Football Stadium
keep pressing the button every minute or the water would turn off. Get ready then walk for 15 mins to the main square to catch the bus. I get on the bus, sit down get my camera out and realise I have left the camera battery at the hostel! So I get off the bus, walk back to the hostel, then walk back to the bus to start again.

I took the tourist bus around Barcelona (didnt fall asleep this time), and was able to see pretty much the majority of Barcelona. After the bus I wondered around the marina and beach for a bit. I was hoping to do a tour of the Barcelona Football Stadium, but I didnt realise there was a game on that night, so the stadium was closed. If I had know about the game before I would have tried to get tickets.

So instead of going to the stadium, I went on a bike tour around the city. I found the same company which I had used in Paris and took the tour with them. It was fantastic. It lasted 4 hours. There was only me and another girl on the tour - I wasnt going to do it with just the two of us, but she was leaving the next day so I felt bad canceling. The tour took us through areas which the bus couldnt/didnt. The ride was about 10km long, but we stopped in the middle for a drink and a snack at the beach. Was a great way to explore the city.

The tour didnt finish until 8pm, so I started to look for a place for tea. I accidently got caught in a middle of a protest (on what I have no idea). There was well over a couple of thousand of people marching down the street, holding signs and yelling. I quickly went into the nearest pub and watched it go by. Behind the protest there was 6 police cars and an ambulance!!

The next morning (17-5) I was in the bathroom minding my own business, when this girl came up to me and asked what is there to do in Barcelona. I told her to visit the beach and wonder the streets. I said I was off to Parc Guell this morning and she asked if she could come with me. I had no problem with that so I said yes.

The park was constructed at the beginning of the 20th century. the design shows Gaudi´s (famous architect in Barcelona) inspiration and respect for nature. There is houses scattered through the park as well as sculptures and bridges designed by Gaudi.

Spent about 2 hours wondering through the Park. After the park I expected Flora (girl from bathroom) to leave, however she ended up staying with me the whole day. Now dont get me wrong, it was nice to have the company, but it was also a bit random. She just invited herself. I had stuff I wanted to do, as I only had a short time in Barcelona, and I was able to do the things I wanted but it felt really funny, having a girl with me who i had spoke with for a whole of 2 mins in the bathroom!!

Anyway spent the afternoon wondering through shopping centres and walking along the beach. We left the hostel at 10.30 am and didnt get back till 10pm. Was a long and extremely random day.

Tuesday (17-5) I checked out of the hostel and went down the coast.
MadridMadridMadrid

Royal Palace
As I was only going for two night I left my backpack at the hostel and only took my little suitcase. It was great not to have to carry my backpack with me!

I had booked into a hotel in a small town called Salou, which is 5 mins from Tarragona and an hour away from Barcelona. I wanted to spend a couple of nights out of the city and to finally have my own room. I could have done this in Barcelona, however this was way more cheaper, plus I got to see another town. Admittedly I didnt see a whole lot of Salou, I spent the majority of the time their either sleeping or by the pool. I didnt realise just how exhausted I was until I was able to lie down and relax for 10 mins. It was great to put the tv on and watch the news. Have to admit it was a little wierd being in a hotel by yourself, but hey who cares!

Today (19-5) I checked out of the hotel and caught the train back to Barcelona. Obviously had to come back to the original hostel as my bag was there.
MadridMadridMadrid

Royal Palace
Spent a little while repacking both bags, ready for another flight tomorrow. Then I went and did a little retail therapy. This time by myself!

After getting sick of shopping, I went to Sagrada Familia, which is the most popular of Gaudi´s works. He devoted himself exclusively to this project until his death (which was by being hit by a tram). The Sagrada Familia is a church, which when completed will be the highest building in Barcelona. Gaudi was only able to see only a small part of it completely, the rest is still a work in progress (nearly 100 years on). The project is not expected to be complete until sometime between 2020 and 2040. However some believe it will take another 100 years to complete. They are building it exactly how Gaudi wanted it, due to the plans he left behind.

And now Im back here writing this blog!

Have to say I have loved Barcelona, however it is the first city in which I have felt lonely. I think this is mainly because of the hostel. The people here are not overly friendly, which isnt helpèd by the lack of common area for people
MadridMadridMadrid

Royal Palace
to meet and talk. Either way I do feel Barcelona would be enjoyed more with a group of friends. Other than that I have had a great time here.

Tomorrow I am off to Portugal to meet my Uncle and his family. Most of your are aware that I am meeting Pete in Faro for a family holiday. I cant wait to be with familar people again, in the comfort of a resort, where I will not have to leave for 9 days. Only reservation is that whilst I am there I will be the nanny for Oliver (3years) and Emeline (1year). Now I have no experience at being a nanny, nor have I ever wanted to be one, so this will be a huge test for me. Everytime I speak with Lisa she keeps telling me how she cant wait to have quality time with just Pete. So for 9 days I will be looking after my two cousins! wish me luck 😉

No promises but I will try tp upload some pictures. These arent the best computers so Im not sure if this will work.

Oh whilst Im in Portugal I doubt that I will
MadridMadridMadrid

Paque Del Buen Retiro
have access to the internet. So if anyone does email me and I dont respond, its not because I dont want to! I will be back on line when I get to London next Saturday.

Until then. Good night


Ok new record an hour and half to upload photos. Its now 11.45pm and I have to be up at 6am..... Because of that I give up! Barcelona photos will have to wait for another time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

MadridMadrid
Madrid

Park
MadridMadrid
Madrid

Park
MadridMadrid
Madrid

Park
ValenciaValencia
Valencia

The Beach!
ValenciaValencia
Valencia

The Beach
ValenciaValencia
Valencia

Science Museum
ValenciaValencia
Valencia

science Museum
ValenciaValencia
Valencia

Oceanographic
ValenciaValencia
Valencia

Dolphins!!
ValenciaValencia
Valencia

Dolphins
ValenciaValencia
Valencia

Yuck a Chuck Norris Shot
ValenciaValencia
Valencia

Pub Crawl


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb