Festivities in England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
December 19th 2010
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Better late than never....here is the blog from England!

I landed in London Heathrow to -6 degrees at 0500, which may sound horrendous, but having come from the tropics, it was actually a great feeling, and one I hadn't felt in a long time! I had to get Mum to bring a coat and gloves to the airport when she met me! The frost was on the ground, and I was grateful to have landed in the country! In a matter of hours after my arrival, Heathrow was shut and planes were diverted due to a heavy snowfall.


Being extremely grateful, and in the minority who could appreciate the snow, I went out for a lovely snowy walk on my first morning, and enjoyed the wintery feeling, berries on trees and snow on the ground! In my first 24 hours on home soil, I also visited the hairdressers! This may sound odd....but my last haircut in HK was highly unsuccessful with a rather large language barrier in the way! Thankfully the local hairdresser was a native English speaker who could chuckle with me about the previous mishap! Hair - sorted!


The festive season was spent with lovely people, catching up with friends and family and spending time at home. Mulled wine, mince pies, Mum's cooking and English TV! It was nice to spend time relaxing! I took a trip up to Wigan, and a trip down south to Brighton, and other than that I was in London seeing as many people as I could. I baked mince pies, went to the pub, and did some good shopping! Good times all round.

I found it rather bizarre when I had to ask for directions in London....I realised just quite how long I had not lived in the UK for! As always, time flew by and there is never enough of it, but it was a nice relaxing festive break! Sadly back to Hong Kong also meant back to work!
J x


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb