The Departure


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
February 13th 2010
Published: February 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

LondonLondonLondon

Dawn in London
Well people, here I am writing up my first ever blog! I'm sure that you've all be waiting with baited breath in anticipation of my blog, and so here it is. I hope that my ramblings make you smile, laugh or just piss your pants when you hear what I've been up to. As many of you already know, this is something that I've beeen dreaming about doing for some time and after much deliberation I took the plunge, deciding to travel overland to Oz, so when the departure date approached the nerves started to kick in. I'll be honest and say that I was a little scared......though mainly excited. Stupidly I booked an early morning train from Sherborne (6.20am) and naturally got hammered the night before and getting just an hours sleep!! One never learns.

On the train to the capital I sat and contemplated my naval....quite easy with my ever increasing belly!! My emotions were high as I was leaving behind some great friends and family about to embark on what will surely be a life changing experience. Yep, I was quite literally shitting myself (I blame mothers bacon butty!), so being on an early train was a
LondonLondonLondon

Dawn in London 2
blessing! But I was now alone.

The journey up was a non-event and so I reached London, grabbed a cab to my hotel, de-camped then set of to hit the streets (well, Soho mainly). Met Kathryn & Alex for coffee then grabbed a meal with JCD. (Jeanette, thanks for dinner! You defo calmed my nerves). First stop, Cleopatras Needle on the embankment and I hit my first problem....no Sterling and the cabbies don't take Euros! He eventually accepted after I threatened to knee-cap him with a headbutt!! Met the bus and the others joing the trip. 4 guys, 7 girls.....I'm liking this already! This could be heaven....most likely gonna be hell! As the bus drove away a rush of nerves hit me and I thought I'd made a mistake. A nano second later I realised it was the best decision of my life so far!!! We hit Dover, grab a ferry and its Goodbye England!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

LondonLondon
London

Dawn in London 3
Leaving EnglandLeaving England
Leaving England

Goodbye England....


Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb