Trespassing on junkies


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 12th 2006
Published: March 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Push the button!Push the button!Push the button!

our photographer couldn't figure it out...
The last few days have been really amazing. I finally rested a bit yesterday (probably a good thing because my ankle has been really sore). Last night, I was invited to see some live acoustic music with people I've met and afterwards we went to a bar and danced (kind of like the good ol' days back in Davis!) Everywhere I go people ask me where I'm from and I proudly say, "San Francisco!" and then everyone loves me because, naturally, everyone loves San Francisco.

Today was completely ridiculous. I walked around Stoke Newington with my new friends. They showed me an old graveyard that has been a burial site since the 10th century. It was spooky and cool. They made fun of me because I'm American and fascinated by old things. There was this abadoned warehouse on the edge of the graveyard and like curious little kids, we decided to have a look inside. There was loads of trash on the lower floor and hyperdermic needles all over the place (should have been a warning sign maybe?) We saw a bed and bunch of stuff showing that people were living inside, but were still curious so we went up
GnomesGnomesGnomes

North London doorsteps
to the top of the building. There was this gruesome grafitti on the walls and the entire place was really disturbing. While we were exploring, we heard a man's voice who shouted at us and we ran as fast as we could out of there back into the quaint little London village of Stoke Newington. Then we shopped for organic groceries.

London is interesting because there are so many old and new and posh and dire things coexisting. It's really cool to discover these things. I guess that's what happens when a city gets old.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Gay Anti Climbing paintGay Anti Climbing paint
Gay Anti Climbing paint

walking around the Borough of Hackney.
Ivy covered gravesIvy covered graves
Ivy covered graves

Old cemetary in Stoke Newington
HomeHome
Home

Reminded me of 'My Own Private Idaho'
ArtArt
Art

I don't think this needs a caption.
Swan in the parkSwan in the park
Swan in the park

Stark contrasts of London. This park just next to the junky's house.
Cottage against highrise housing projectsCottage against highrise housing projects
Cottage against highrise housing projects

again, stark contrasts in London


13th March 2006

i like how your faces are showing such different emotions at your photographers incompetence.
13th March 2006

wow kimmorz
awesome! it sounds like you're having a friggin sweet arse time yo! keep us posted so we can live through you!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb