London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 11th 2006
Published: March 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

London's ChinatownLondon's ChinatownLondon's Chinatown

I felt like I was home...
I've been in London since Monday. Yesterday I went to Greenwich (the birth place of time!) and it was only then that I realized just how chaotic this city is. I'm not sure that I love London, but I think it's grown on me. The last couple days I've been able to do some fun things.

It's been raining the entire time (I think I see a patch of blue out the window though!). Despite the weather, I've been getting along fine exploring the city on foot. I've finally hit up most of the main tourist attractions and been to several of the museums. The national museums have free admission. I really enjoyed the National Portrait Gallery. I saw the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace the other day. There was a huge crowd of tourists gathered, but it was really rather boring...

On Thursday, I visited the Houses of Parliament and got to see the House of Commons and House of Lords in session. The inside of the building is really beautiful. Later that night I got to go to a taping of BBC show at the BBC Centre. I didn't understand the British humor and pop
BoxesBoxesBoxes

An exhibit at the Tate Modern. The artist made plastic casts of the inside of cardboard boxes then stacked them around a room. It reminded me of my old Kleenex box collection in my closet.
culture. BUT I did fortunately know who Tessa Jowell is.

Last night I met a musician/artist named Dan who took me to his friend's gig in Camden. He was really good. I'm glad that I've gotten to do some less touristy things while here because the feeling of being a tourist in a city you don't know really sucks. It's just not fufilling snapping photos of Big Ben and the Tower Bridge then leaving.

I've been living off mostly toast but I've also tried some English food. I had shepard's pie yesterday in Greenwich, but according to another customer at the pie shop, I should have gotten the steak and kidney pie. I also ate some bangers and mash in a pub. It was the most disgustingly greasy crap I've ever had...but it was delicious.

I'm leaving London tomorrow night on a overnight bus to Glasgow. I'm looking forward to going to Scotland because London is curaaazy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

GatesGates
Gates

This is a photo of the gate in front of Buckingham Palace. If you look real closely, you might be able to see the palace and some guards.
Tower BridgeTower Bridge
Tower Bridge

I went to London and saw the Tower Bridge!!!
Westminster AbbeyWestminster Abbey
Westminster Abbey

The only blue sky I saw that day.
BBC CentreBBC Centre
BBC Centre

BBC owns the UK
Greenwich ParkGreenwich Park
Greenwich Park

There's me in Greenwich park with the Royal Observatory and National Maritime Museum surround me.
Prime MeridianPrime Meridian
Prime Meridian

I'm standing on 0°!


12th March 2006

Yay Kim!
Do you know how may stone I weigh?
12th March 2006

did youe have any china food in chinatown? it's pobably not as good as it's here. have more fun keebs! <3

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb