Monday's Shopping Adventure!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 3rd 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alright, so it was my first day to explore London on my own, and I decided to go shopping. I needed a few things (including a camera cord, which I got), and decided it would be a good way to have a look around.

I didn't have any directions to a "mall", so I thought I'd just take a ride on the train, and see where it took me. I stopped in at an info booth, and the guy recommended Elephant and Castle for shopping. I thought, "cool, just like the restaurant, it must be great!" and off I went. Elephant and Castle is what I call a "dirt mall". Cheap junk, and closeout stores. Total disaster.

I took the train back to Clapham Common, and got better advice from that info guy - he sent me to Westfield shopping center at Shepherd's Bush station (I giggled at the name too). It was AWESOME! It had several areas, upscale with designer labels, regular, and kids' sections. I had fun touring around and looking at the clothes and the shops, including the "nut bar" (see the pic).

It had patio style restaurants all around it too, and I had
The Nut Bar!The Nut Bar!The Nut Bar!

MMM nuts in the mall.
a very expensive burger and fries - almost 14 pounds. I snapped a shot of the diet coke for you, Amy! It's in a bottle 😊

Once shopping was done, I headed home and took a walk with Heather's flatmate Sarah, to a nearby coffee shop and we sat in the park. The weather has been super here - lots of sunshine!

For dinner, Heather and I headed to Notting Hill for a quick tour, then to Primrose Hill and through the gardens near there. Check out the pics from the rose gardens, and the view from the hill. Heather calls Primrose Hill the "free London eye". Well worth the walk.

We had a super dinner in the area at a pub called the Engineer. Gourmet food - yummy! Then we headed home of the train.

I'll be going on another adventure tomorrow - this time with a plan to visit the zoo. Planning is good 😊

BTW the name of the street where the Indian food was, was Brick Lane. Worth a visit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Roses at the GardensRoses at the Gardens
Roses at the Gardens

Just one of the infinite varieties of roses at the gardens.
More RosesMore Roses
More Roses

A wider shot of a small section of the rose gardens.
Me at the GardensMe at the Gardens
Me at the Gardens

Check out the waterfall behind me!
The View from Primrose HillThe View from Primrose Hill
The View from Primrose Hill

Primrose Hill is a great spot to see most of London. You can see the eye of London ferris wheel in the shot. The full moon is a nice touch!
The Underground MapThe Underground Map
The Underground Map

Check out all the different train lines in the underground!
The UndergroundThe Underground
The Underground

Heather snuck a picture of the underground train. They discourage pics of it, because the flash distracts the drivers. I promise, she didn't use a flash!
Coke Ads for AmyCoke Ads for Amy
Coke Ads for Amy

These ads go the length of the escalator in Clapham Common station.


12th August 2009

COKE RULES!
Hey! Awesome ads! Sounds like you are having an awesome time. Thank you for thinking of me. We had a good trip to Alaska, it was actually quite warm there. The glacier was neat and I did a bit of shopping too. TTFN! Amy

Tot: 0.579s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0843s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb