My Flight, and My First Night In London!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Clapham
August 3rd 2009
Published: August 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alright, so international flights overnight are terrible...that's a given I think. I got a little sleep despite the crying babies, and the flight attendants who wake you up to ask if you want an airline meal. I had a great seat neighbor who is originally from Pakistan, but getting her pHd from U of A in nutrition. Super nice!

My flight was delayed because of that wicked storm, so I hope that everyone back home is OK! I'm sure my condo is missing even more siding now! Here's hoping it will be fixed by the time I get home!

My first night in London was fun! After getting picked up at the airport by Heather (who patiently waited for me over 2 hours - thanks!) I got an"oyster pass" for the metro, and we took the underground to Clapham common where she lives. I was grateful to get a shower after 9 hours on the plane!

We were off to get some Indian food next! We took a train, then walked to a street filled with different Indian restaurants (I'll get the name of it in case you ever visit!). There were guys on the street making deals with you to get you in to their restaurant. We got 20% off our bill,and two free drinks each at Mango - pretty sweet! We had an assortment of vegetarian dishes, which were all delicious, and for 3 of us (Me, Heather, and her flatmate/roomate Sarah) it cost 25 pounds. Pretty good!

I got lots of pictures, but don't have my cable to connect the camera to the computer... I will get one while I'm out shopping today. I'll post them as soon as I can!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb