Day 1 The Markets and Jet Lag


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 5th 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A at the Borough MarketsA at the Borough MarketsA at the Borough Markets

A at the Bourough Markets
Well I am here in London! I arrived at Heathrow at 6:30 am yesterday. Lucky for me I am already over the jet lag - thanks to Annelies making me stay up all day long. Annie and her flatmate had some friends over for dinner last night and I was so tired by the early evening all I could do was giggle through entire conversations. Last night I met the funniest person on earth! Funny, I can't even remember her name now - oh well.

After being picked up from Heathrow and having a shower and calling the hubby and kids, we headed out to experience some markets. We stopped first in Brixton to walk through the street markets - fantastic atmosphere! I loved looking around me at all people from different cultures, nations and colours. I bought a new satchel bag from a stall (because the Jimmy Choo bag my sister lent me didn't really feel "like me").

Then we went on the tube and by bus to the Borough Markets. Which are these expensive food markets that sell really yummy home made pestos, cheeses etc. We got a delicious venison burger for lunch and ate it while
Me at the George HotelMe at the George HotelMe at the George Hotel

Me at the George
we walked around. I think I am going to get fit while I am here because of all of the walking - but not SKINNY if Annelies keeps feeding me the way she has been! Anyway, weightloss talk is so boring! We went around sampling amazing cheeses and buying them too! It was very fun spending ridiculous amounts of money on gormet food!

We stopped for a wine in an alley next to a fantastic building which was built in the 1600's and is currently being used as a pub. It was called The George. I think the history plaque said it was a hotel that was frequented by Shakespeare and Dickens - does that sound right? Anyway, it was exciting.

Advertisement



5th July 2009

G'day Lovey!
First day sounds like fun! Glad you got there safely. Like the photo of you at the English pub. You look so at home. :P Can't wait for your next post!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb