Internship Interview!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
February 7th 2006
Published: February 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Woke up rather early, showered and got dressed. Found out that today the Circle Line/District Line were both shut down for the day because someone was on the tracks...not cool, so again, since i left early enough for my interview, I was able to move navigate around it. i went to my interview and managed to get through it all right. I thought it was probably one of the worst experiences of my life. I came so prepared for it, to discuss what I would like to do and what not, but when I showed up, I got coffee with the other intern and Charlie, who will be my supervisor. Well, I say and looked like a buffoon, the entire time the other intern and Charlie talked about their weekends. I mean, I know that there are cultural differences, and interviewing here isn't as formal as is in the States, but c'mon. I am interviewing for an internship in Parliament!!! I felt very uncomfortable throughout the entire thing. I was so nervous about it and then it was THIS! Argh! My favorite part of the whole thing was when the other intern asked me what school I went to and I told her. Charlie then asked, and goes, 'oh! well, silly me i should have reviewed your CV!?! I should have known that!' I wanted to pull out the copy of my CV right there and be like yup, there you go! But of course I didn't. (for those that don't know a CV is basically a resume') I was more prepared for an interview than my supervisor was for this informal meeting! But whatever, the good news is I got the job! So, i will be working for Greg Hands, Conservative MP. He represents the Hammersmith and Fulham district, which is pretty near here. So Yea for that! I begin work 28 Feb 2006 at 1030a. That is nice though, cuz i don't have to get up too early!!!

Advertisement



18th February 2006

interesting interview
Congrats on your internship! What a great experience for you. That intereview did sound a bit strange...maybe you can have the supervisor's job --haha. Since you haven't posted any blogs since 2/7, you must be pretty busy with your studies or off traveling someplace new? I'll check back in a few days...take care!
20th February 2006

Katie is traveling for the next week on her spring break. KT, I hope you are keeping a journal of all the sights so you can catch us up when you return to London. Love, MOM
25th February 2006

exiting life you lead
We miss you and are glad to have found your blog!!

Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb