Two grand days in the country


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 11th 2007
Published: October 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The last two days here in London went way too fast! Yesterday, I toured the Britain Imperial War Museum, which had a special display pertaining to military communication. I found it every interesting, since it is what I do in the military. I also had an opportunity to see the changing of the horse guard’s. I am a sap for military tradition, style and honours.

Later in the day I met up with a mate (Emma) I met to Uni (when in Australia) with her. She is now living in England for the next year on a work/vacation VISA. It sure was nice to see here. I haven’t seen her for at least 3 or more years. It was nice to have a mate to hang out with while on vacation (she spent a day and a half with me). We also ran into four folks that are from England the other night on our “night” tour of the city. They were out celebrating their mate’s birthday. Turns out one of them lives in Moscow. We exchanged details and I will meet up with him when I am in Moscow later on in the week. All of us hung out Wednesday night, Marc, Andy, Helen, Emma and Lez (Jeremy). In fact, we all stayed at my hotel, since it was an early rise for all of us. Out the door by 7:30 a.m. and it was easier for them to stay at my hotel-close to work for all of them. So, I ordered extra roll-a-ways and we had a grand time - bloody British!!!

Then today, Emma joined me for my tour of Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Bath. Windsor was fantastic. Another large scale changing of the guards and the royal band…I had to laugh, they played the theme song to ET as one of their selections. It was then onto Stonehenge. I can’t believe the stones are 40 tones and how the moved the stones into place. I have my own thoughts on what the “henge” was used for. It was a beautiful drive and gorgeous countryside. We then ate at a little pub on the way to Bath. I had a fish bake, which was the best medley of fish I think I have ever had…and of course eating at a pub I had wonderful ale. I was originally suppose to go to Oxford, but as it turns out I was the only one that wanted to go, so my tour was switched to Bath. Boy am I glad I got to take a Bath…I mean go to Bath! The city was amazing. It is a beautiful Georgian city with delightful architecture. We also got to visit the Roman Baths after they had closed. The baths were lit by torches, hot springs ran through the grounds and we were guided by a Roman soldier. Very neat and the water was so nice, although I wasn’t suppose to put my hand in it. The Roman soldier threatened to have me tarred and feathered! Opps! Won’t do that again!

From Bath it was a nice two hour drive back to London. Nice because I slept the entire time!!! Emma left for her hour train ride north to Essex. I have to be up at 2:30 a.m. tomorrow to catch my shuttle to London Luton Airport. I sure had an AWESOME time here in London and really hate to go! Of course, it is one expensive place to visit, so unless I want to not spend ANY money and ANY other country, it is time for me to say
My new mates from LondonMy new mates from LondonMy new mates from London

Mike , Marc, Emma, Lez, Andy and Helen.
good bye. Next time you here from me I will be in Poland! Cheers!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Is it suppose to be green?Is it suppose to be green?
Is it suppose to be green?

becasue the pool is lined with lead, the water is turned green. You really woudn't want to go swim.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb