In need of a nap! (and a shower!!)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 12th 2007
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello to all of you!

I'm back in London after being in Cambridge for a few days. Cambridge was INCREDIBLE! I took some really sweet pictures however I'm affraid I still haven't found a place to upload them yet, so you'll all have to be patient (still!) We stayed at King's college which is a college of the University of CAmbridge. The court yard and the buildings we spectacular! We were in the most Beautiful chapel (which unfortunatly you could not take pictures in) and listened to the number on Choir in the nation sing. They were some pretty cute little kids, although I could have do without an hour long catholic mass... but I guess it's something I'll only do once. The windows were all stained glass and the ceiling was the highest in any cathedral in all of England. The removed every pane during WWII so that they would not be lost if the building was attacked. We also went punting, which are the long boats that are pushed around with sticks, we got quite a tour from our punter and enjoyed a bottle of wine. Lovely! We went to a great club last night and danced, danced, danced. I broke down an bought myself a hoodie, it's nice and green. : ) This money thing is outrageous. At last check it's 2.20 pound to dollar. UGH! And my bank account is feeling it, but I think I'll make it. Just need to buy more bread and fruit. That's super cheap.

I'm very excited for tomorrow and this weekend. Tomorrow I will be able to sleep past 8:00 for the first time in weeks, and I think I just might sleep till noon. I'm tired, but am still feeling well. A lot of kids are starting to get sick, so I'm trying my best to stay well. On saturday a group of 6 of us are going to stone hendge. And then on Sunday it's off to the continent. (we leave at 6:00 am!) and spend pretty much the whole day on a coach, train and coach. Our first stop is in France, Strasbourg. Next stop Kehl, Germany. Triberg, Germany where we spend the afternoon in the black forest (Super cool) and then it's off to Brussels, Belgium, where I think Jan and I might grab dinner. The we go to the Netherlands The Hague and Amsterdam. We'll be back to London on Saturday. So it will be a ton of travel and sleeping all over the place. I think it's incredible how well I can sleep on the coah, train etc, I have mastered laying in the seets and love, love, love my Ipod (thanks Kevin) and ear plugs.

I'm still so happy to be here. I miss all of you, but I can't imagine what my life would be like without this expereince. I have a whole new perspective on the world, and especially all of the people in the world. It is so crazy how alike and different we all are. I'm stoked for the language barriers on the continent. I have really enjoyed meeting people from all over the world, and the struggle to decifer what one another is saying is very interesting to me. Even the English speak a foreign language! I'm really stating to worry about what I will do with myself when I get home. How do I apply all of this great knowledge? Where do I work, live.... And when do I get to travel again?!?!? I know that this traveling bit is an incredible gift, and it is deffinatley something I want to do in my life. I am more whole then I have ever been before.

I am still getting along well with everyone. We have soo much fun together. some of the kids are sooo funny.
Please tell Lyle I miss him. I miss East Lansing, the Peanut Barrel patio, my old apartment, and of course all of you.

Love from London.
Lisa

Advertisement



14th July 2007

hey - we are out of ped client binders - ha ha
Wow - sounds like you are having an awesome time!!! Can't wait to see some of the pictures. We do miss you. Keep having fun - be safe.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb