One Week Gone


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 20th 2005
Published: August 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Swiss Re Tower Swiss Re Tower Swiss Re Tower

Known by many nicknames, including 'Erotic Gherkin' and 'Towering Innuendo', it still makes a fine addition to the London Skyline. The architects claim that it is London’s first ecologically tall building. (Whatever that means!)
Well the first week of my European Adventure is over and for one reason or another the seven days in London just flew by so quickly. With the exception of yesterday (Friday 19th August) the weather has been fantastic, you could even describe it as Sydney-like.

My friends Mick and Sally arrived from the North of England on Tuesday and we spent the days wandering around the town and allocating plenty of time to drink coffee and read the excellent newspapers of London. I’ve taken a liking for the Guardian and the Telegraph however there is always The Times, Independent and a number of tabloids to read as well.

On Thursday, Sally and I took the tube to Hammersmith to do some shopping, a busy, vibrant place with a great selection of shops.

Interesting to note that there was a lot of footpath-widening taking place, not dissimilar to the Sydney footpath widening program prior to the Sydney 2000 Olympics. I guess, like Sydney, London will become a massive construction site for the next seven years leading up to the games.

Mick and Sal returned to Sheffield on Friday (20th August) and I chose to spend the day
Don't let it Fall!!Don't let it Fall!!Don't let it Fall!!

My friends Mick and Sal doing their best to hold up this giant jelly bean.
watching DVDs as the persistent rain continued outside.

I woke today (Saturday 20th) after a great night sleep, something I haven’t quite managed since I arrived. I’ve consistently been waking up at 5am and so it was pleasing to awake at 7.30am today.

Early plan was to go to Wimbledon and get a tour of the All-England Club with my brother Kevin who works there, but the suspension of the District Line tube service prevented me from going, though its still morning here and I might try again after lunch.

I decided to head back to Borough Market and again it was choc-full of people. I’ve never been to a place that has so much fresh produce to offer and the crowds certainly flock to the place.

I ended up buying some chorizo and a few items for some salad, however I could have bought so much more. It seems that the most popular stall at the Market is the one that sells venison burgers. They must be fantastic, as the queue seems to extend forever, snaking its way around the market. Perhaps I’ll try it some other time.

I hope you enjoy the
Fruit and VegFruit and VegFruit and Veg

Why would you want to leave this place? Its a shame its only open two days a week.
photos captured at the market in this journal entry, however I'm not sure they do the place justice. I wish I could capture the wonderful smells as well.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Bread Anyone?Bread Anyone?
Bread Anyone?

One of the many bread stalls in the Borough Market.
Olives on the sideOlives on the side
Olives on the side

A great selection of olives...as I lover of them I was more than happy to try a selection of freebies from the stall holder.
Busy, busy, busy....Busy, busy, busy....
Busy, busy, busy....

People seem to travel from everywhere (even Australia) to visit the market.


21st August 2005

Great photos
Excellent photos Sheikh, they almost made me want to become a vegetarian.

Tot: 0.317s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0928s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb