London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 8th 2007
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Big BenBig BenBig Ben

Taken from the top deck of the bus, very impressive.
The flight over to London was dreadful...

I had to sit next to a 70 year old Vietnamese drunk! He was abusing the free alkz until they stopped serving him, then he proceed to sing songs and laugh at nothing. After his 7th drink I left my seat and moved towards the back haha. 8hrs and I was in Vietnam for transit, went to see the oldies and of course EAT! mMm~~ Then another 13hrs to Paris France, 25 minutes to London... it was dreadful~

I manage to squeeze in so much in the 2 days I was there, I can also understand why so many Aussies pick up and head over there. The life is completely different to ours, so much to do and see.

DAY 1:
Bought a ticket for the Original Bus Tour to cruise the city of London, spent a good few hrs on that see all the famous landmark London has on offer. I honestly thought it was good value, you can hop on and off at any point any time. They even offer a free river cruise!! Learnt how to use the tube and its dead simple! Although the tubes are
Notting HillNotting HillNotting Hill

The houses around this are is gorgeous, tall victorians!
dirty... smelly... bloody humid... they always come on time!! Unlike Melbourne transportation. So a whole day exploring ended with me in the pub with Mel & Tin for some pub grub. My meal was only 3.25pound for a pot pie, chips and PEAS! They sure love their peas because it even served with fish & chips. Anything thing I also noticed about London is they have no 7/11, it’s replaced with Starbucks, Prex & Eat (both sandwich stores which are on everything single st) The English sure love their sandwiches eh? After dinner I was drained, headed back to the hotel and crashed nicely.

DAY 2:
Got up real early, like 5am early! Couldn’t sleep due to the time difference and not wasting anytime I got up. Then headed over to the Portobello Markets, Borough Markets, Notting Hill, London Tower, Tate Modern Museum, British Museum, Buckingham Palace, Harrods, West Minister Abbey, Big Ben, 4 of the London bridges over the River Thames, a cruise along the Thames & the Royal Academy. It turned out to a very productive day and I had a ball~ so much fun! I loved the Borough Markets, it had some the best food I’ve
London BridgeLondon BridgeLondon Bridge

Cruising under the london bridge, is falling down falling down~ haha
ever tasted. Fresh grilled scallops served on a bed of crispy bacon & bean shoot salad, $4. The Tate Modern was an eye opener for me too; the size of the building alone was impressive. Entry is free; the gallery itself holds some of the best art from Picasso, Pollock to Monet. I'm not a very arty farty person but the paintings are very nice, you can easily spend a few hrs in this place. I can seriously go on & on about the places I’ve seen, but the photos can do more talking. I also meet up with Knee that night for a small pub crawl. Daz, knee's brother and his wife was also there. I had a very good time that night, also tried my first English pudding! Its just pastry to me, but the English sure love it. Haha

Next stop, AMSTERDAM!





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

St PaulsSt Pauls
St Pauls

The Church in the background is St Pauls Cathedral where Prince Charles got married to Lady Diane Spencer.
Borough MarketsBorough Markets
Borough Markets

The market where i ate very good food from cheese, venison burger, grilled scallops, smoked salmon and freshly open oysters! So so so good
Royal AcademyRoyal Academy
Royal Academy

yeahh i good perve... haha
Buckingham PalaceBuckingham Palace
Buckingham Palace

i was clearly more interested in finding Beckingham Palace...
Pub CrawlPub Crawl
Pub Crawl

Met up with Knee for a small pub crawl


11th June 2007

Howdy Hunny~ Sounds like you're having the time of your life! Be safe, and take care Y. Love you, twice around the world and back again Julie x
11th June 2007

Howdy Hunny~ Sounds like you're having the time of your life! Take care and be safe on your travels. Love you twice around the world and back again~ Julie x

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb