England, Dahling'


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 3rd 2007
Published: May 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sam and Larissa have arrived!!!

The flight over here seemed to go by quickly and people were more than willing to switch their seats so we could sit together. The neatest (and most exhausting) part of the trip was watching the sun set and then two hours later watching it rise again from pink to red to yellow to day at 550 m/ph.

When we arrived we were surprised at how fast we got out of the Heathrow airport- everyone had told us it was one of the world's worst so we were expecting a long wait but were surprised to get out of there in half an hour(!) and then we easily found our way to Andrew's on the tube.

He lives 20 mins by tube from central London in a beautiful area of old english style flats, huge trees, parks and there's a market just down the street. Absolutely amazing... and we've decided to eventually live here. (sorry parents..) haha. Although i'm guessing we'll have that attitude towards most of the places we have yet to visit.
As soon as we got there he took us to Alexandria Park which is a tree lined walking area (complete with a palace) and looks out over the whole of London situated in the valley below. He is the typical dry humoured Brit and keeps making cracks at the uselessness of Canadians and our only worth- the supply of country's beavers. So we keep betting him gold plated beavers which we've adopted as our new currency.

We toured the Tower of London, the castle that houses the family jewels (with so many diamonds in them they all look fake!!!) and explored the Tower Bridge. Which discouragingly is not even the London bridge. That's right, the London bridge has actually fallen...to the Americans. Andrew informed us that the original London Bridge was bought by the Americans and now rests in arizona. How depressing.

Along with Andrew we also met Rita- a charming, hilarious, lovely woman who is Sam's Nana's friend. She gave us a cell (err mobile😊) for our use in Europe. We all chatted at the pub where we had our first English pint before heading home for some much needed sleep.

After 32 hours without it, Sam and I deliriously dragged ourselves through the town and up the little hill to Andrew's house...and just woke up- 15 hours later.

Well we're off to the British museum and to explore Soho today.

Keep in touch! much love,

L&S

P.S. Gotcha Aunt Liz! We actually didn't go to Europe but instead decided to host Toronto's Jack FM radio station together. You must have been shocked when you heard none other than "Sam and Larissa" on the radio yesterday...


Advertisement



3rd May 2007

News from the boy your missing most
SAM and LARRIEY(issa)!!! How typical I am to be the first to respond...maybe I'm still the only one subscribed to your blog (with the exception of Simon Bloom). Truthfully...I just sat here and pressed refresh every 5 minutes since I got back from the airport hoping that you'd post an entry. So my Mom booked our England trip, so now it's official. You better have thought of a good place to hide a note. Maybe in a sketchy pub??? Under a rock??? Graffitti it on a wall on St. Paul's Cathedral??? Just some ideas... Oh, Larriey, I forgot to tell you that when I went to see Vacency the other week, the song me, you, and Cathy played for our Canadian theatre Sheridan audition thingy came on, and I was freaking out. Thought you should know. I watched the game, and saw The Hitcher last night with Krissy D, Alec, Toni, and Clairica. The game was amazing...we won!! Woo hoo...one more game to go and it's on to round 3. The Hitcher sucked, don't see it, it didn't have a point. It kinda reminded me of how the real movie of High Tension was in another movie (Larissa). And Sammy, I might have to work at Parks again cause the Odyssey job is only a month and a half long. How sad. Well I hope this amazing responce was what you've both been waiting for. Can't wait to hear from you guys again! Sounds beautiful and that your having a good time!!! Keep chugging those pints. Love love, Eric, loving husband, Paulson and Paul.
4th May 2007

Bonjour!
Allo! I'm glad you girls are having an awesome time! (i'm so jealous of you two) Here are some slang words from england...hopefully by the time you read this...you will still be there...hmm.. avvy = afternoon. ex: me and my leper went to the market this avvy. balmy = insane, crazy. ex: larissa is one balmy lady! cuppa = cup of tea or coffee. ex: would you like a cuppa? Daft = silly, foolish. ex: you are such a daft...punk. eggy = slightly annoyed. ex: Ugh! your make me eggy! (?) Eyetie = An italian ex: Antonella is one sexy, cool Eyetie! HAHAHA. FANNY = The female genitals. BE CAREFUL because...its use may cause confusion in the U.S. where it means buttocks. ex: my fanny Gabby = talkative. ex: antonella is very gabby...please make her stop. i think i should... none of those are that useful...but i just thought i'd give you a few for fun! BE SAFE AND HAVE FUN! i'll be waiting for the next entry! w000. Love, Antonella
4th May 2007

Sam in Europe...of course
I read the whole thing. I know, alot for little old shewb. But I hope you are having as great a time as your saying on your blog and have alot more fun ahead of you. ps: way to put you visa card secret number laying infront of the computer. :p
4th May 2007

Green with Envy
Larrie Scary- I miss you more than Nancy does...but she just keeps repeating "Bonjou Mon Nom est Nancy Drewwwww", I anticipate this continuing until you return... It's weird that when I picked up the phone to call you yesterday you weren't there...lol I'm glad you're having fun- and omg i totally agree with the fake analogy re: the jewels in the Tower of London museum...did you do the tour- the beefeaters are great! please update soon and I miss you! xoxoxoxoxoxoxox
4th May 2007

AH! I still can't believe you guys are halfway around the world right now! It sounds amazing. Have a great time in London and I can't wait for your next blog!
4th May 2007

My two beautiful friends!! IN EUROPE!! AHHH!
I'm with Carlson!! I can't belive you are over there!! AHHHH!! I think about you everytime i open my phone- which has a picture of you guys as my screan- lol- i know, loser right? lol. So i went to Zach first rugby game yesterday and its so stupid! The britts are idiots for this game!! -Its their game right? lol Anyway- Zach's a barbarion! And - he had his own little cheerleading squad- OMG! Leahs home too and we are going to live in Europe too at some point- we could be roommates! Anyway- write often, i miss you bunches and bunches!! I'm so glad you can post pictures too!! The tears came when i realized it was you both- lol- OMG i'm going to run out of tears by like 30! Ok- i love you so much!! Take care of each other! Love Cat xoxo BE A SPONGE!
4th May 2007

excellent
glad you arrived safely, don't forget to tell us about that fine english dining .... and the traditional Indian food Ken
4th May 2007

'ave a pint fer me!
Hope you cats are having a balst - sounds good. Make a bit of time to see that art for me! The Tate modern is something not to be missed. It is very funky, and I imagine you both will love the Grand Entrance "Turbine Hall" style. catch ya' online! Lizzo
5th May 2007

hi Sam!
Hey Sam, your mom gave me your travel blog address so I could live vicariously though you and your travels. Hope you're having a great time...stay safe!! Katherine
5th May 2007

WOW
I still cannot get over the fact that you two are actually gone!!!! I'm glad to see your having fun and dont forget to take a lot more pictures!!!!
5th May 2007

Just want everyone to know that I am, of course, emailing Larissa and Sam but am old fashioned and kind of shy - don't like the idea of my messages being read by everyone and anyone. So................ just to let you all know that I am sending emails but I am going the private route. Have fun!
7th May 2007

Third time lucky!
Hello again, Sam. This will be my third try to send a Comment. Gathjer from your BLOG you both are having a great time. Was glad you enjoyed Rita's company as much I have over almost fifty years. Enjoy all the sights and sounds I know I did when I went. love, Nana
22nd May 2007

Hey,hey,Samantha May!
How about an update today: Would love to hear where you are and what you are doing. Hope lack thereof is because you are still having such great time. Love you, Nana
30th May 2007

Thanks for Update
Hi, Sam: Thanks for the update. At least the trains run over there. Am going to take Via 1 to Toronto for Liz's graduation on June 14th. We are all very proud of her. Let's hear from you both soon. We love to hear about your travels. Love, Nana

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb