BBQ on the roof of Harrod's


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 1st 2007
Published: May 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Horrible photo, I knowHorrible photo, I knowHorrible photo, I know

My first Prius sighting in London, just across the way from our B&B on Westbourne Road. Since this sighting we've seen dozens. Brilliant.
Our host at our B&B fixed us a quick breakfast and our first stop was Harrod's, to shoot in their food departments. When we arrived, we were greeted by a Kansas City native who now runs 3 BBQ restaurants in London, who would be joining us for our tour. Our host at Harrod's, Andre, took us through the staff entrance and on to the meat department, where we began. Very soon after we arrived, the main doors to Harrod's opened, and people started pouring in. It became very difficult to get what I wanted, as there were people all over the place, also taking video and pictures, and screwing up my shots. When people see the camera, they often do exactly what I don't want them to do: they change what they were doing in order to not mess up my shot, but that messes up my shot because it is obvious in the shot that they are trying to not mess up my shot, therefore they're messing up my shot. They mean well, usually. In other cases there are the jerks that purposely get in the background, or the truck that purposely blares its horn, or the rudest lady of them all (not an immature teenager), who purposely shoved me out of her way twice and waved her hand in front of the camera twice (this was at the farmers market near Edinburgh Castle) when it was quite obvious that I was shooting an interview. There was also glass over nearly every food display, so reflections were everywhere. I was able to pull up the glass in some situations, but I had to have the host with me, and the point is it was hectic there and I just didn't have the time I needed to get great stuff. We went up to the roof of Harrod's next, and the chef from Kansas City then fixed some sausages on a little weber grill with the London skyline behind us. We were live on the Harrod's rooftop webcam for a little while if you were watching. Unfortunately, it was really really windy, and the sound would have been worthless, so we only shot a little footage up there. We had sandwiches for lunch at a little place called Cafe Rouge, and then made our way to Richmond to shoot at a fish restaurant called Fish Works. I was very happy to see the restaurant had large skylights, and was brightly lit, and so the footage of the restaurant (minus the kitchen) should be pretty good. Kitchens are always a pain to shoot in, guaranteed. I haven't found one yet that was lit kindly for video. The only exception would maybe be at Ballymaloe in Ireland, but that doesn't really count because those kitchens were made for demonstrations and cooking instruction. The chef at Fish Works grilled prawns and scallops and a fish that I forgot the name of. We ended the day in SoHo, where we shot and ate a little BBQ at Bodean's, one of the restaurants run by Bryan from Kansas City, the chef we'd met earlier in the day at Harrod's. The best part of the meal was the BBQ'd rack of lamb.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb