My 25th Birthday


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 12th 2007
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Gold MedalGold MedalGold Medal

Finsihers medal
Running the London marathon has been a goal of mine from the moment I knew I would be moving out to London. It just so happened to fall on April 22nd 2007 which also just so happened to be my 25th birthday. So what better way to ring in my quarter century than run 26.2 miles on the streets of London.
I started training back in Bulgaria in Jan (altitude training) - I had this run down through the town and then headed out on the main road to the next village called Potornitzche. It was so cold, I often ran through the snow on the sides of the road - I figured it would make me tougher which it did. Also halfway through this run was this lone house where a massive german shepard would come charging at me but stop yards from me and just bark and bark. Anyway, long story short I really injured my illiotibial band in my left knee and had to stop running altogether. I had surgery on my other knee for the same reason a year before, so things were not looking good with regards to the marathon.
I literally did not run for close to 2 months before the marathon - but a combination of stupidity and my good mate Dave flying out to run it with me made me do it.

After making some dodgy photo copies of race entries and numbers we jumped the fences in Greenwich park and were off. Three of us ran it - myself, Dave and Jen. I pulled off after a few miles to join 2 other south africans making a pee on the side of the road. We somehow lost Dave, and then he did not wait for long enough at the place where I told him too if we split up and that was that.
But what a race, UNREAL. It really was truly an incredible incredible experience. The streets were rammed with people shouting and screaming for me. I was wearing some south african running shorts and people kept shouting COME ON SOUTH AFRICA!!! I ate about a million jelly babies, had to take me left shoe off a smear my foot with vaseline cause I had blisters all up the inside of my foot. I taped my nipples before the race to stop them from bleeding but had to constantly apply vaseline under my arms and down there, you know - down there. My toenail on my middle toe, left foot fell off as well. My knee felt fine for the first about 11 or 12 miles and then it just kicked in. (i think all the pain killers i took before the race wore off) and did the pain kick in. Every step I took on my left leg felt as if a cork screw was being driven into my knee. Once again the stupidity/stubbornness/i'm a man with a large penis thing kicked in and pushed me along, that and the crowds. Honestly it was so amazing with all the people there, bands, jugglers, topless women and even old Elvis came along.
The final stretch up to Big Ben along the Thames and then past Westminster and Buckingham palace was so surreal. I was so tired, I seriously could not see clearly my entire body was in immense pain but crossing that line with my hands raised was one of the best feelings I have ever experienced in my life. A feeling I will treasure for the rest of my days.
I'll be sure to do it on my 50th.
I can't wait to run it again next year. Dave you're in my boy.
Any other takers??

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb