Scotland and London 2023


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 9th 2023
Published: April 10th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Today was a day off of sorts for me. All the kids were going to the Star Wars Convention, so I would be by myself. I already had to go to The Royal Albert Hall to pick up my lost Messiah Program. I also needed to wash clothes for the remainder of the trip.

So after breakfast I headed to our room to organize, gather up all our dirty clothes, and head to the Central Wash laundromat just a few blocks up the street I called ahead to make sure they were going to be open….and they were. I was surprised how busy they were but I only had to wait a few minutes on a dryer. They’re about 20 washers, but only 8 dryers.

Once the laundry was done I came back to our room to repack everything and plan what clothes were going in which suitcase. Chrissy and I would be leaving for a trip to Lyme Regis in West Dorset which lies on The English Channel and we would need rain gear, boots, and warmer clothing.

At around 12:30 I headed back through Kensington Park as I was supposed to be at Royal Albert Hall between 12 and 4. It was a beautiful day. The weather was perfect. Everyone was out enjoying the weather and the park. It was a pleasant walk through the park and I got some good pictures.

When I arrived, the person I needed to see was out to lunch. I went to the cafe and ordered a coffee and a caramel shortbread. I sat and enjoyed all the people while waiting. I finally was given two copies of The Messiah Program to replace the ones I forgot in the cab and I headed back through the park to my hotel room.

We were going to meet for dinner at a local pub. We wanted to have the traditional British Sunday meal…..pot roast with Yorkshire pudding. The roast was served with potatoes, mashed turnips, greens, carrots, gravy, and Yorkshire pudding on top. The presentation was great and the food was good, but to be honest I can make a pretty good pot roast so it was just okay! The pub was in an old building with great character. I loved the old pictures hanging on the wall. By the time we walked back it was 8:30…..almost bed time!

Tomorrow Corey, Jennifer, and Ace go to the Star Wars Convention. Chrissy and I are going around the city to see the sights!




Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb